A Mid-Summer’s Meal

A few of you have asked how last week’s BBQ attempt turned out.  It really did pull together very nicely.  There was lots of good food, contagious laughter, fun games, and plenty of catching up.  A few of you have asked why there wasn’t a ‘The Cookout – Part 2’ blog post.  That’s because I’m still recovering. It was a lot of work.  A lot, lot of work.  🙂

I have decided to keep my entertaining attempts a little more low-key for the time being.  Fewer people.  Still very important guests.  So last night, I made dinner for my parents and sister Sarah. 

To protest how quickly summer is passing, I put together a ‘We Don’t Want Summer to End’ dinner.  🙂 

I stuck to some of my favorite summer foods and focused on just enjoying the process.  No freaking out.  No stressing.  Just having fun in the kitchen and loving the fact that I could treat my family to a home-cooked meal… in my very own home.  And you know what, it worked.  I had a blast!

While I was finishing up the dinner prep, I put out a giant bowl of my favorite summer fruit — Watermelon!  Chilled and sweet, it makes for a simple, lite appetizer. 

Mom and Dad weren’t shy!  🙂  Have I introduced you to my parents yet?  I think not, so I feel a special post is due soon.  They’re awesome.  Best * parents * ever!

With the weather having been so warm lately, I decided to serve caesar salad as the main side, as apposed to potatoes.   Cardini’s Caesar Salad Dressing and croutons are all-natural and when tossed with romaine lettuce and freshly grated parmesan cheese, you end up with a delicious salad that takes only minutes to prepare.                                                                                                 

The chicken recipe is a favorite of mine.  I first found it in a cookbook my mom bought me during my freshman year of college, but you can also find the recipe online.  Bruschetta chicken looks fancy, but is actually very easy to prepare.  Chicken breasts dipped in bread crumbs, baked, and then smothered with fresh herbs and tomatoes.  It’s healthy and chock-full of flavor.  Yep, what’s not to love?

To finish off the meal, I served homemade focaccia bread and sautéed zucchini (tossed with olive oil, garlic powder, chopped tomatoes, and Italian seasoning). 

And a summer meal wouldn’t be official without strawberry shortcake.  Flaky shortbread.  Sweet strawberries.  Freshly whipped cream.  What can I say.  Everything in moderation, and I don’t believe in skimping when it comes to dessert.  🙂  Pure deliciousness!

Oh, summer, why must you go?

(Special thanks to my sister Sarah for taking the awesome pics!).  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Mid-Summer’s Meal

  1. So FUN! I felt as if I was being entertained by Martha herself. Seriously.

    Love ya girl! Hope you have a great week. 😀

  2. justmarriedgirl says:

    Looks amazing! I find myself trying to soak up the last bit of summer, too, even though the weather usually stays pretty great until October (with an off day here and there). I am a teacher and go back to work this Wednesday after a very long hiatus, so it’s especially hard! I’m having family visit next week, and I think I might use a similar theme!!

  3. Katie says:

    Amazing summery spread! I want that strawberry shortcake so badly! Also, your bruchetta chicken…kind of genius.

  4. Abby says:

    This looks live a lovely meal! I love any meat with breadcrumbs. I am really sad that summer is ending.

  5. Awwe strawberry shortcake always reminds me of my grandpa. He *always* has a big bowl of crushed strawberries, pound cake, and ice cream ready for us whenever we visit!

Leave a Reply

