Books, Sweaters, and Dishes

Sunday was exactly what I needed.  Church.  An hour or two spent with my sister.  And then nothing but relaxation.  I didn’t even bother doing the supper dishes. Yes, I know. I’m such a rebel.

To top it off, it was a rainy, cloudy day, which just screamed relaxation.  While most people were posting Facebook updates along the lines of, “I hate this weather,” I was curled up in bed with a good book and a mug of hot tea.  Sometimes, a good cloudy day is just the excuse I need to be lazy.  And now, I’m feeling much more relaxed, energetic, and as prepared as possible for the upcoming hectic weeks at work.  😉

The couple of hours spent with my sister were extremely productive in the bargain shopping department, which only added to my happiness.  🙂  We stopped at Barnes and Noble for a coffee and to check out the fiction novels.  As always, I couldn’t say ‘no’ to buying a new book, even though my parents informed us that they uncovered three more crates of my books stashed in their basement.  Nate groaned when he heard that, because our basement already has eight such crates.  (In my defense, at least two of the crates are smallish, so it’s really like seven crates of books if we’re going to be fair).  Anyway, I’m technically not supposed to buy anymore books until I’ve gone through the eight crates that I do have.  Or, well, I guess we’re up to eleven crates now.  I seriously thought I had hid those last three cates much better than that.  Maybe I should have dug a hole. 

I ended up leaving with this one… Sophie Kinsella’s Shopaholic Takes Manhattan.  It’ll make for a fun read!

Sarah and I then browsed the aisles at TJ Max, as I was on a mission to find a sweatshirt.  My last sweatshirt was the victim of a horrible death.  Death by washing machine to be exact.  Actually, my entire winter wardrobe suffered such a fate, except for about the six tops that were safe in my drawers.  Long story short: husband wanted to help me by doing laundry.  Sad story’s ending: husband didn’t realize that most sweaters shrink, fuzz, or bleed when put in the washer or drier.  Positive note: I was able to keep my cool and give him a hug for attempting to help out.  (He’s still nervously waiting for the outburst that’s sure to come, but I really am okay.  It was an accident, and most of my clothes were getting older anyway. Excuse to go shopping?  Hey, I’ll take it).

But let’s just say that I will be doing a LOT of bargain shopping as the winter months come closer.  So I was excited to find athletic wear from Calvin Klein for $20.  Original price?  $60! 

And that ultimately was all I planned on buying, but then I came across these…

They were extreme clearance items.  The kettle was only $7.50 and the casserole dish was only $10!  And they’re red!!  Let me tell you, if you’re looking for some cute accents for your kitchen and you’re shopping on a budget, go to TJ Max (or the HomeGoods store).  There are some very cute things for extremely low prices.  Plus, if you’re a cook who throws things around when you cook, it’s comforting to know that you’re working with a $10 casserole dish… as apposed to one that cost you $50.  😉

Happy Tuesday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Books, Sweaters, and Dishes

  1. I am obsessed with TJMaxx! Obsessed! It was so much fun looking through all the bargains and adorable dishes, and the red kettle and casserole dish will look so perfect in your kitchen. 😀

    Let me know how the book is! 😀

  2. Jeannine Como says:

    I realize that I should have done this yesterday, but I didn’t think of it until today. When you make your Bruscetta Chicken, do you put it back in the oven after you put the tomatoes and herbs on it?

  3. justmarriedgirl says:

    I wrote about shopping today, too. Must be the weather, or maybe it’s the time of year!

  4. Abby says:

    Those dishes are so cute! I can’t say no to books, either. Which is why I stay away from bookstores and hang out in the library these days. I still have a lot of books, though…

  5. bradmhackett says:

    thank you for not freaking out on Nate, I am sure I will do something along those lines but it’s nice to know someone out there is sane 😉

  6. Meg says:

    Totally love the casserole dish and the teapot! What a good idea to look at TJ Maxx! I’m totally with you on those cloudy and rainy days. They are so cozy!

Leave a Reply

