Saturday Smiles: Excited for Autumn

I didn’t do much this summer.  I didn’t go swimming, never made it to the beach, couldn’t get time off from work to go camping, and only had one campfire.  Mostly, the difference between me and Nate’s work schedules are to blame.  We don’t have the same days off from work, so planning things can get complicated.  So when I realized that yesterday was supposed to feel like Fall — and Nate actually had the day off from work — I decided to get started on some fun Fall activities.  I am not going to let Autumn slip by like summer did.  I’m going to make it count!  🙂 

Nate and I started off the day with a two-mile jog.  We couldn’t resist the crisp morning and bright sunshine.  And although it was a rough run because we’re just getting back into the routine again, it was absolutely worth it.

The bad thing is that we had slept in and then ran before breakfast.  So by the time we were showered and ready for the day, we were both starving.  It was nearly lunch time and there was no way that we were going to take the time to make omelets as planned.  At that point, we were more apt to drink the eggs raw.  So hungry!

So Nate suggested pizza from our favorite Greek pizza place, and I didn’t even bother to answer. I just grabbed the keys and took off for the car. 

Their pizza isn’t the slightest bit greasy.  Just chewy crust, the perfect tomato sauce, cheese, and lots and lots of mushrooms.  So amazingly delicious.  We only ordered a small, because we decided to be kind of good and fight some of the hunger with a green salad.

Nate also ordered buffalo chicken tenders.  He loved them, but they were too intense for me.

Happily full, we then set out for our first Autumn adventure: apple picking!!  🙂  It’s one of my favorite Fall activities, not only because you can’t get better apples than fresh from the tree but also because it’s an excuse to make an apple pie.  Anything for an excuse to make an apple pie!  And I just love being outside and the way the sunshine beams through the leaves of the orchard.  So pretty. So quiet. So relaxing and fun.

Not to mention that the orchard near our house has a petting zoo.  I have most definitely not outgrown my love of petting zoos, and ended up making two new friends.

Meet Fuzzy, the bunny.  He had the fuzziest head ever… like someone rubbed a balloon over it until his fur stood up from the static.

And meet Charlie.  He wanted nothing more than a kiss, even though I kept telling him that I was already married.  Some guys just can’t take the hint.

Anyway, we were able to pick up more than enough apples for a pie (which will be made tonight) and extra for eating.  I definitely hope to be back a few more times before the season is over.  Oh, and I most definitely want to go on one of their hayrides.  🙂  How much fun would that be? 

What’s your favorite fall activity?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Saturday Smiles: Excited for Autumn

  1. bellawilfer says:

    Oh, you went apple picking!! *is jealous* Apple picking would have to be my favorite fall activity, but I like an easy hike at this time of the year, too. 🙂 Oooh and a bonfire at night, yeah, that’s fun…

    For the first time ever, I don’t think I’m too sorry to see summer start to slip away. I like fall – I just don’t like winter. 😉

  2. I am in love with Charlie!! Ah! Too cute. Look at those lips. :mrgreen:

    Can’t wait to go apple picking! So fun. 😀

  3. bellawilfer says:

    PS – Out of curiosity, how much is it for picking this year? And were they busy yesterday?

    PPS – My mom tried your rosemary focciata (sp?) bread and it was delish! Livi says she really likes it. 😉

    • Nicole says:

      Oh, so glad your mom tried the bread recipe. 🙂 It’s definitely a favorite of mine too! As for apple picking, it was actually $23 a bag. Nate and I were too cheap to pay that much, so we picked half a bag… so therefore paid $10. Ha, ha. And they weren’t busy at all!! I guess it’s because it’s so early in the season, but there were only a handful of people there.

  4. Abby says:

    So cute! I’ve never ever gone apple picking. Even my grandparents go apple picking every year with their senior group.

    I love fall, too. Just not winter.

  5. justmarriedgirl says:

    Ok, I was sad about summer coming to an end, but now I’m kind of excited for fall!

Leave a Reply

