Yummy or Funky: Soy Nut Butter

Look what I got in the mail!  The I.M.Healthy Company sent me a jar of their soy butter to test.  🙂 

Now I’m a peanut butter girl all the way,  but I’m married to a guy who’s deathly allergic to peanuts.  So I can’t whip him up a peanut butter sandwich when we’re all out of groceries and he’s in need of a quick lunch. And I can’t make peanut butter cookies.  And most granola bars are out of the question.  So I was all for giving soy butter a try.

Because I’m a huge fan of honey peanut butter, I thought that I should let Nate try the honey soy butter as well. So before our taste test, I picked up a jar of that.  Two flavors are better than one when you’re taste testing, don’t you think?  🙂 

Now soy butter is the exact same color as peanut butter. And when you stir it up, the consistancy appears to be the same too.  So if you know someone with a nut allergy and you are asking them to try soy butter, you may have to remind them — again and again — that this will not kill them.  Nate was a bit nervous, and I don’t blame him.  It looks exactly like the stuff that usually ends him up in the hospital.  But soy butter has absolutely no nuts in its ingredients, and  the I.M.Healthy company processes it in a plant that never deals with nuts.  So even schools are beginning to introduce it, because it’s completely safe for people with nut allergies.

Like peanut butter, it has about 100 calories in each tablespoon.  It also has 7 grams of protein, which is only about one gram less than peanut butter.  The taste is quite similar as well, especially the honey-flavored kind.  I found the soy butter to be more dry, but I honestly think that a bit of my mom’s homemade strawberry jam would fix that.  (Nate didn’t seem to mind the drier texture, because he wasn’t comparing it to peanut butter as I was).  And I’m excited to try it in recipes, especially for homemade granola bars since Nate can’t eat many of the store-bought versions.

Nate liked the soy butter, although he admitted that it’s going to take him some time to get used to eating something that resembles peanut butter.  I personally still prefer peanut butter, but it’s awesome that my husband can now eat something that will provide him with many of the same conveniences and health benefits.  It’ll be a great snack before workouts, a healthy way to add protein to banana smoothies, and a quick meal on those days when the fridge is nearing empty.  So soy butter will definitely be a staple in this house.

Thank you I.M.Healthy company!!

(Note:  A few of you mentioned that you’d like to try making my Zucchini chips but that you’d need a substitution for the bread crumbs. Well, I noticed that I.M.Healthy makes gluten free corn crumbs, which can be used as a substitute for bread crumbs. I’ve never tried them personally but thought that some of you would be interested).  🙂

Have you ever tried soy butter?  What did you think?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Yummy or Funky: Soy Nut Butter

  1. I can’t wait to try this! 😀 I’ve always wondered if they had a good peanut-free “nut” butter out there, and this one sounds really good. 😀

  2. justmarriedgirl says:

    You are so brave. I just can’t do the soy nut butter! I tried it, but it could not replace the real thing for me. Sometimes, it’s hard to be good!!

  3. JE Lillie says:

    Hey I love soy (at least in lattes) and it can’t possibly be worse than the all natural peanut butter. I will give it a try!

    • Nicole says:

      Ha, ha. You might not like it. I think that those of us who CAN eat peanut butter will struggle with the texture of soy butter, while people like Nate — who can’t eat peanut butter — won’t know what the ‘real’ stuff tastes like. So they generally like it more. But I think I could find an all-natural peanut butter that you’d like. Next time I’m at Whole Foods, I’ll pick you up a sample! 🙂

  4. Lori says:

    I haven’t tried that brand of the soy butter but I’ve tried a different one a few years ago. It was different, but not necessarily in a bad way… different, weird texture and taste was off but still ok. I’d eat it. 😉

  5. dianacheung says:

    i didn’t like it…but I’m a nut fiend!

Leave a Reply

