The Plan – September

Well, as you know, last month I began my year-long journey into a healthier lifestyle.  Although I feel strong and healthy now, I’ve been lazy and am just recovering from a knee injury.  🙂  So these goals are what I’m using as motivation to get healthier.

I’m pretty happy with the way things turned out.  I’m drinking a lot more water than I did before, and Nate and I have made some serious attempts to get moving… as apposed to giving into the I’d-rather-relax urges.  Because of the August heat, we didn’t do a whole lot of strenuous exercises.  But just getting outside for a walk after dinner made me feel healthier and more motivated. 

But we’re entering a new month, so time to add some new goals to my  list.

September’s Food Goals — One of the best eating tips I’ve heard is the one that tells you to listen to your body, because your body knows when it needs fuel, when it’s full, and when it’s thirsty.  The problem is that oftentimes, we ignore what our bodies are telling us and eat because we’re bored, because it’s a scheduled meal, or even because we’re emotional.  We grab for that bowl of chips, because we want to munch on something while we watch television.  We add a piece of pie to our plate, because dessert always follows dinner.  We go for second helpings, because everyone else is.

I used to be much better at intuitive eating.  Then I got married.  😉  And Nate was eating much bigger helpings (he is a guy after all) and slowly my helpings followed.  I don’t need such large plates of wheat spaghetti or such a huge salad.  But a lot of times, my portions follow his needs… rather than my own.  And he was eating more sweets, and I’d have a helping of whatever he had… even if I really wasn’t craving it.  He’d eat when I had the munchies, and I’d eat when he had the munchies.  Our eating patterns were completely thrown off.

So this month, I plan on really listening to what my body needs.  I might even end up eating more sometimes, because I definitely could add some good foodage to my lunches.  (Still working on revamping those.  Blog update coming soon).  But it’ll be about stopping when I’m satisfied, instead of eating more just because it’s the thing to do. 

I especially need to watch the television-time munchies.  Mindless eating kicks into full gear around that time, because I’m watching TV… not paying attention to what I’m eating.  So I’ll skip the snack if I’m not hungry.  And if I am, I’ll turn to a healthier option.  I’ll be blogging about that soon too. I’ve found some fun, healthy snacks that I think you’ll like.  🙂

Exercise Goals — Last month, I focused on motivation.  For three days a week, Nate and I motivated ourselves to go for a walk, bike-ride, or jog, even though we felt tired from work and would have rather relaxed.  It was hard sometimes, but I was always glad that I did it.

So this month, I’m kicking things up a notch.  I still want to exercise three days a week, but now I’m going to focus on some serious cardio.  No more casual walks after dinner, unless it’s above and beyond the three scheduled days.  If we go for a walk, it had better be a power walk and we had better break a sweat.  😉  (Walking is great exercise and can really get your heart pumping).  And I’d like to slowly add in some more jogging, as I went twice last month and my knee didn’t hurt.

So for three days a week, Nate and I will do twenty minutes of cardio. 

(Note: To those of you who are following along, remember that I’m doing this based on my own, personal abilities.  You should consult your doctor if you’re not sure about what you should or shouldn’t be doing).

Ready…Set… September!

Previous Goals

August

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Plan – September

  1. I love this! You know I’m all about intuitive eating, because just like you said, our bodies know when we’re hungry and when we’re not. The hard part is learning to tune in to what our bodies are saying (and actually listening!) When I first started doing this more, I realized that I would sometimes say things like, “I shouldn’t be hungry” or “I shouldn’t be full.” It was hard getting rid of those thoughts at first!

  2. Meg says:

    I love that you set your goals right on your blog where you have to be responsible for them. I know what you mean about husbands. They eat and get hungry more and it’s like a food marathon! Way to go taking step by step to be in a healthier lifestyle!

  3. jelillie says:

    I am beginning the drinking of water and cutting down on the coffee. I actually told my wife not to buy coffee for the house! Thanks for the tips. 🙂

  4. dianacheung says:

    good luck…in our culture we NEED to learn how to eat intuitively…many social events are ABOUT food…so it’s hard to know when we are hungry or just really tempted by the food placed in front of us. I’ll be rooting for you!

Leave a Reply

