Worry Be Gone

Worrying?

Yep, I do that.  In fact, if I’m not worrying about something, I’ll probably worry that I’m forgetting something. Because there’s always something to worry about.  I am the queen of ‘what if’ and ‘it might.’

For the record, I’m doing much better.  I think that Nate has played a huge role in that, because the guy doesn’t worry. 

When we were just married and I thought I was pregnant (false alarm), I was all concerned about how cramped our living space was and about finances.  He had the kid’s college picked out.  When we were in our first apartment and the carbon dioxide detector went off, I was in a panic and wanted to call the fire department.  He just rolled over and told me to take the batteries out.  When we had the first cookout, I was afraid we wouldn’t have enough food.  He shrugged and said there’d be plenty of chips and soda if everything else was gone. 

He doesn’t just see the cup half full.  He sees the situation and realizes that if the unexpected happens, it happened and it’s time to make the most of a situation we can’t fix.  Worrying will do nothing except give you a headache, keep you up at night, and use needless energy. 

That’s my husband. Calm.  Cool. Easy-going and always collected. 

Then there’s me….

(Enter image of young woman pulling out hair). 

But like I said, I’m getting better!

It’s just so easy to get caught up in the worries and cares of life.  But I’ve been realizing lately that when I worry, I’m telling God that He can’t handle the situation.  And He can handle the situation.  He can handle any situation.

So I bought a journal on my way home from work.  And in it, I wrote down my worries and all the things I would love to see resolved… taken away… answered.  I left a space next to each.  Because when I pray over these things every day, I will give them to God and let Him take care of it. I won’t have to worry about it anymore.

When my prayers get answered, I’ll jot down the date.  The answer.   And I’ll be able to look back and realize that He had everything under control all along.  Maybe things won’t always turn out the way I wanted or planned, but He’ll always be with me every step of the way.  He’ll always get me through. 

Do you struggle with worry?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Worry Be Gone

  1. Inez says:

    I love your blog! It spoke directly to the heart of me… I tend to think a lot and worry a lot and I too tend to overlook the fact that God is in control and not me. As a matter of fact, I just posted my own blog on a similar issue.

    I look forward to reading more from you. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Meg says:

    This is great! It seems like the more you worry, the more there is to worry about. I admire the conclusion you came to about leaving things in the Lord’s hands. If we do all we can, he’ll help us along with the rest! What a nice food for thought. 😉

  3. dianacheung says:

    i struggle with worry and guilt…and like you I have a VERY calm partner who either makes me laugh and tells me “ENOUGH stop thinking about it”…writing it down def helps but I also say “If I can survive this…i can survive ANYTHING”…or I’m trying to leave work stress AT work!

  4. Jeannine Como says:

    You are writing constantly! It’s a wonder you ever have time to worry!!!!!!!!

  5. lisaou11 says:

    At least you have someone in your life that isnt like you to ease your nerves!

  6. I tend to worry about things sometimes too. Usually writing it down like you said or going out for a long walk makes me put things in perspective. I like to ask myself if what I’m currently worrying about will really matter much in 10 years from now. If the answer is no, then I need to ‘let go and let God.’

  7. Abby says:

    Yes! Especially with my future. The uncertainty scares me, besides the fact that there is so much of my life that I really can’t control. I’m sort of like you, pulling my hair out at times. I feel as if I’m learning to trust more.

    I had to laugh, though, when I read he already had the kid’s college picked out.

  8. justmarriedgirl says:

    Oh my goodness. I worry about everything. All.the.time. Glad to know I’m not the only one! While my husband is calmer, he worries, too. But luckily, we don’t tend to worry about the same things at the same time!

    Good post.

  9. hannahkaty says:

    I worry so much, though I wish I didn’t… It is so hard to let go and let God.. But I think I get better with each day.

  10. mystiqueme says:

    Hi,

    I love your post about “worry be gone”. I just stumbled across it while I just logged into my blog.

    I’m a big worrier too and think that something’s not right if I have nothing to worry about. Right now reading your post felt like God was having a conversation with me. Although I pray, I some how still worry about a lot of things failing to understand that I’m in that situation only because he wants to take care of me, but yeah it’s a human tendency to worry about everything. So he just got through to me by your blog asking me to be a little patient and have a lot more faith in him, cause he can handle all things that aren’t possible. So here I’am waiting for HAPPY RESULTS :)..and trusting him a bit more..

Leave a Reply

