Just Another Day at the Office

I was working hard at my computer, when I saw something move in the corner of my eye.  It was a man.  Looking at me.  From outside the window.  Now that wouldn’t be so completely freaky if I weren’t in an office on the third floor.  I turned quickly and stared.  It was a man.  He waved.  I nearly fell off my seat, as my manager screamed.

The guy, apparently as startled as we were, motioned his arms as if to say, “it’s okay” and pointed to a giant  contraption hanging from his belt.  A giant contraption for washing windows.  That’s when I noticed the cable holding him up and the suction cups on his shoes to help him maneuver around.  A little embarrassed, I fell back into my seat, as my manager burst into nervous laughter.

“What’s the matter?” the guy whose desk is behind me asked.  “Don’t you believe in fairies?”

I rolled my eyes.

Half an hour later, I packed up and shut off my computer for the day.  I walked down several flights of stares and pushed through the heavy door into the bright sunlight.  I noticed someone coming out as well, so I quickly caught the door and held it for him. He was a rather large man.  White beard.  Shorts.  Hawaiian shirt.  Not the typical sight I usually see at the office.

“Warm out, isn’t it?” I said, making small talk.

“Oh, it is,” he said, laughing.  “But it’ll be snowing soon enough, so don’t complain.”

“Yeah, you’re right,” I replied with a smile.  “I guess we should be enjoying this sunshine.”

We walked down the path to the parking lot together.  The man was laughing and pretending to see a wintery scene.  Commenting on the snow-covered trees and how he needed to finish his Christmas shopping.  I figured he was trying to make a point. You know, remind me of how I should be appreciating this hot, summer weather. 

I paused when we reached the end of the walkway. “Great, I can’t remember where I parked my car.”

“That’s because you can’t see it over all the snow bankings,” the man said, winking.  “Wow, look at those snow drifts. Can’t see a thing. Just white.  Yep, I sure wish it were summer again!”

I wasn’t quite sure what to say, so I just laughed.  And then I came home and told Nate I had met Santa Clause.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Just Another Day at the Office

  1. jelillie says:

    Santa Claus vacations in New England? Who knew?!?

  2. Meg says:

    I love this! Such a perfect snipped of “a day in the life”. 🙂

  3. Haha…I burst out laughing when I read this. I think that every day should involve Santa Clause and a man cleaning windows. That must have been so hysterical and such a day brightener…haha. 😀 Love it.

    Can’t wait for Saturday (that’s tomorrow!) Happy Friday! 😀

  4. love1025 says:

    you should totally write that novel girlfriend!!! what would it be about–anything to do with romance and I am there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

