The Vacation Countdown

My annual physical was scheduled for 4pm, and the doctor didn’t step into the examining room until 4:45 pm.  That’s a long time to sit in a room by yourself while wearing a thin sheet with arms that’s supposed to give you some dignity.  And all there is to pass the time is to read the posters on the wall that warn you about all the diseases you might have… and then list all the symptoms and the things you should be tested for.  By the time the doctor did show up, I felt like begging her to take a biopsy on everything.

My only consolation was that there is no chance that I have absolutely everything.  Although one of my friends told me that maybe I do and that I will be sought after by doctors everywhere.  (Thanks, Chrystalle).  😉

But it got me to thinking – again – about how some things in life are unpleasant, but yet still benefit us.  Going for a physical is not on my Top Ten List of fun things to do after work.  But I go, because I want to make sure I’m healthy.  And if something’s wrong, I want it to be caught early.

It’s like Year End at work.  Stress is reaching maximum levels and there are moments in which I just want to shut off my computer and quit.  I feel like I can’t keep up.  But I keep moving on because I’m not a quitter and because Nate and I need this money.  And throughout the process, I’m learning about myself and about how to better deal with a hectic situation.  (Or how to not deal with a hectic situation.  😉  I still have a long ways to go).

It’s true. What doesn’t kill us just makes us stronger.

But anyway, as I was thinking about unpleasant things, I realized that they benefit us in one other way.  They make the good times seem extra good.  The lemons of life (the things you’re supposed to turn into lemonade) make the slices of chocolate cream pie taste even sweeter.  🙂

In exactly three weeks, Nate and I take off for a week to celebrate our second anniversary.  No work, no opposing schedules, no deadlines.  Just a slow-paced week of relaxation and fun.

Every morning, I ask Nate, “Is it vacation-time yet?”  I think he’s starting to wish that I’d  just make the countdown chain I had talked about putting together.  But I think asking him is way more fun.

Was I excited about vacation before?  Of course.  Am I super excited about vacation now that I’m in the middle of Year End at work?  You’d better believe it.  A vacation is just what the doctor ordered.

Any Fun Plans In Your Near Future?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Vacation Countdown

  1. lisaou11 says:

    Ahh vacation. I always want vacation. My next big trip will be skiing in Colorado in January. I can make it till then right??

  2. jelillie says:

    Indeed fun plans are in my headlights! I am going to visit my kids in Valley Forge on Columbus Day weekend. Yay!!

  3. justmarriedgirl says:

    I just love to travel, and I can’t get enough of a vacation. I just had a whole summer off, and I’m ready for another respite. Hope you enjoy a great getaway!!

Leave a Reply

