Please Don’t Scratch the Furniture

(First of all, I want to send out a sincere ‘Thank You’ to WordPress for featuring me on their Freshly Pressed page… and to all you readers who came by to check out my blog.  I won’t lie. I was completely over-whelmed… but in a good way!!  In fact, I was so over-whelmed that I wondered how I could even post today.  With that many readers stopping by, shouldn’t I address something important like world peace or Global Warming??  But after sitting in front of my computer for hours — okay, maybe not that long — I realized that this blog is who I am.  A bit of cheesy humor, stories of married life, and a call to enjoy the simple moments.  And I guess I don’t want to change that.  🙂  So you can’t expect any future posts on national security, but you can be sure that I’ll be writing about more escapades in the kitchen, marriage adventures, and my struggles with just slowing down and enjoying each day.  But all that to say, thank you to WordPress and readers.  You’re the best!).

Our couch is being delivered on Saturday, which means that our living room will go from this…

…to this.

Well, minus the lamps, foot-stool, end tables, coffee table, plant, wooden horse, paintings, and textured walls.  But other than that, it’ll look just like the picture.  😉

Nate and I have been in the house for about seven months now, and although we had no issues with sitting on the living room carpet, I think that we’ll feel more comfortable inviting guests over now that we’ll have actual furniture for them to sit on.  We’ll all find a comfy spot and drink tea or coffee as we chat.  Or maybe we’ll even enjoy a plate  of homemade dessert as we laugh over a funny conversation.

See, I have absolutely no qualms about letting our guests eat in the living room on our new furniture.  People are that important to me.  Oh, and I suppose I should mention that Nate and I bought the five-year warranty plan.  If someone drops food on our couch or chairs and the stain won’t come off, we can exchange the couch or chair for a new one.  It’s like buying piece of mind.  You just can’t put a price on that.  (Although the furniture store somehow did).

There’s only one problem with this great warranty plan… It doesn’t protect against animal scratches.  And I own two of the most mischievous cats you could ever hope to meet. 

The salesman at the furniture store made it very clear that we could not replace our furniture if we were to call in a scratch that was caused by a cat or dog.  In fact he illustrated it for us.  He wrinkled his nose (I guess that was his cat face) and held up both hands, fingers curled, and illustrated a cat scratching its way down the side of a sofa.  Nate and I cringed each time he did it, which only made it obvious that we were worried about such a thing happening.  So he did it several times more to get his point across.  By the time we had made the purchase, Nate needed an inhaler and I was having a panic attack.

What can I say? Our curious cats think the world (or the house, at least) is their own personal playground. 

This is partly our fault, I suppose.  The only furniture that my husband and I have come home with recently has been cat furniture.  We had found a large, cat scratching post on sale and were thrilled that the cats attacked it with vigor the moment we set it down.

“Awww, they know that it’s for them to scratch on,” we said, smiling happily.

We’re not smiling anymore.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Please Don’t Scratch the Furniture

  1. Sunny says:

    I found your blog, via Fresh Pressed…congrats on that, by the way 🙂

    I really like the way you write. That’s a tough one…about that warranty! Seems a cat scratch would be like a stain ~

    The sofa looks beautiful !

    Well, good luck to you and hubby for your future and new home! 🙂

  2. jelillie says:

    And for this reason someone somewhere invented the de-clawing surgery. Someone somewhere could no longer take torn up couches, chairs, rugs or people!

  3. justmarriedgirl says:

    Our couches are completely shredded thanks to our little fur beasts. The furniture is also on the old side and needs replacing, but we’re afraid to go all out bc if the cats. We’re thinking about those couches w the removable covers (a la PB)!!

  4. Don’t worry, Nicolie, they will learn!! It may take a few times of telling them “no” and redirecting them to their scratching post. But seriously, they *will* learn.

    And we’ll make sure their nails are nice and manicured on Saturday. 😉

Leave a Reply

