True Love Week — Engaged!

I’m engaged!

Once you say those two words, people instantly transform from friends and acquaintances to vendors.  Suddenly, the woman you sit next to at work is a photographer.  The girl you didn’t really get along with from highschool wants to be your wedding planner.  The guy at the supermarket meat counter wants to cater the wedding.  And everyone suddenly thinks that they’re the next Dr. Phyl.

Advice.  Sometimes I found myself wondering if people were on my side or were trying to scare me.

There was the manager who gave me extra time off, because hopefully this would be my only wedding. 

“Oh, it will be,”I assured him.  “When I get married, it will be for life.”

He gave me a knowing smile, went back to his computer, and came back with a print-out of what my odds of divorce would be.  Let’s just say that it’s a good thing I’ve never been one to follow the majority.

There was the sergeant who told Nate — on his first day of the new job — that he should get out while he still could.  Because marriage didn’t work for men in his line of work. Or men in general.

And then there was my florist…  She was small, resembling a humble peasant woman with her wrinkled skin and long, gray hair.  I thought she was a sweet, old woman.  But just days before my wedding, as a bridesmaid and I stopped into her little florist shop, she leaned close to me and in a cackled whisper said, “If you know he’s not the one, you should get out now.”

The aforementioned bridesmaid coughed out a nervous laugh, while I just stood there and wondered what she knew about Nate that I didn’t…

Advice.

It was during this time that Nate and I were tested.  Never once did we want to call off the engagement.  But it tested our ability to work together.  Were we going to give into the doubts and nerves, or were we going to focus on enjoying this special time together?

I’ll be honest.  I could have enjoyed those times even more. But I’m looking back and realizing that everything worked out, so it’s pretty easy from where I sit.  Right now, I know that Nate did get the job.  During those days, we didn’t know if we’d come back from the honeymoon with both of our jobs in tact.  We didn’t even know if Nate would get time off for the honeymoon, when we did find out that he had the job.  We didn’t know who would win the cake argument: should we go for a creamy, white cake or one that looked like a pumpkin?  (I’ll let you guess who wanted the pumpkin cake to match our Autumn theme. I’ll give you one hint: not me!).

But it all worked out.  And honestly, we learned to laugh at the unfamiliar, the unknown, and the uncertain.  There were tears. There were moments we fought.  There were the exciting moments as we booked a honeymoon trip to the Caribbean or found the perfect, party-favors for a Autumn-themed wedding.  Maple syrup!  🙂  When my dad offered to make beautiful wooden boxes for the centerpieces, we knew it was all coming together.

In the end, being engaged was the best time ever.  It wasn’t all excitement and special memories, but it was all about us moving forward in our relationship.  It was all about learning how to work together. 

And honestly, the worries and concerns all melt away when you find the weddng dress of your dreams.  🙂

Anyway, it all flew by so fast.  Because one morning, I woke up and realized… Today, I’m going to marry my best friend!!! (Not that I hadn’t been counting down the seconds all along).  😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to True Love Week — Engaged!

  1. je lillie says:

    Wow Nicole you did get put through the ringer! You and Nate are a beautiful (err I mean handsome sorry Nate) couple! I have always liked you two together! 😉

  2. wittywife says:

    What a great post! Thanks for sharing.

  3. love1025 says:

    people are bruttle!!!! You guys look so happy how could anyone NOT be positive around the both of you!!! So glad you made it to the other side as a married woman 🙂

  4. Meg says:

    I am totally loving this series! I’m sad to hear how much negativity you ran into. Everyone was pretty excited to hear when I got married though I did have a few “friends” who were a smidge jealous. (But those same friends sure expected me to be over the moon when it was there turn.)

    You never realize how much planning goes into a wedding until you have your own!

  5. That’s insane!! You guys really held it together through everything though, and at the risk of sounding cliche, it’s completely true: “what doesn’t kill you, only makes you stronger.” 😉

    I love these posts! 😀

  6. bellawilfer says:

    Phew, am I ever experiencing this, too! 😛 Last night, I got not only an offer for someone to sing at my wedding, but also another wedding planner! 🙂

    I’m sure as we get closer, I’ll get more of the negative advice. 😛

Leave a Reply

