I’m Back!

I am officially back from vacation and feeling rested, well fed, and ready to ease back into reality.  Okay, so that last part is slightly exaggerated.  I could get used to sleeping in and waking up to this every morning…

The beauty of New Hampshire’s White Mountains takes my breath away every time.  I couldn’t help but gasp as we drove through the valleys and looked up at the rocky cliffs surrounding us.  The beauty and majesty is almost over-whelming.  It never gets old!

To save money, Nate and I stayed in a rustic cottage in the woods.  We practically had to drive up a mountain to reach it, and there were instructions next to the toilets on how to flush them.  If you ask me, that’s when you know you’re out in the sticks.  😉  But it was the coziest get-away, especially when we had turned on the fire-place in the living room.  Honestly, rustic sometimes is the way to go.  As much as I love dressing up and being all girly, nothing screams ‘vacation’ quite like pulling my hair into a pony-tale, tossing on a hat, and not even worrying about make-up. 

It wasn’t all rustic though, because we had access to a rec center’s hot tub.  The hot tub was surrounded by glass windows that overlooked mountains and a small pond.  I could get used to that let me tell you.  I told Nate that I was born for such royal treatment and asked him if he thought Brad Pitt and Angelina would adopt me.  He just rolled his eyes, so I guess that’s a ‘no’ and I can just face reality that my hot tub days are over for now. 

Now you’re probably dying to know what Nate and I did on our vacation up in the White Mountains (or at least a little interested), 😉 but I shall get to that in the next two days.  After all, activities and food deserve their own private blog post. 

But I must first show you what I have been dying to show you since I left.  Honestly, I was tempted to post pics long ago, but I couldn’t cut into True Love week to show you pictures of my new couch.  Somehow, furniture isn’t the definition of true love.

Still, I am so completely excited about the addition to the living room.  Our couch and chairs were delivered!!!  I can’t explain how cozy and relaxing it is to sit on a couch and read a book.  And we actually also purchased two end tables and a coffee table from Pier One, due to a crazy sale we encountered while shopping there.  But we’re still waiting for those to come in… 

The house really does feel more like a home now that we have some furniture in the living room…  Can you imagine what curtains and lamps will do??

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m Back!

  1. I’m so excited for your vacation photos! The first shot is absolutely stunning. You’re right, the scenery never gets old.

    And YAY for new and adorable couches! I can’t wait to see the end tables, as I *completely* forgot to check them out when I was over your house the other day. 😀

  2. Meg says:

    What beautiful and fun getaway! Love the new furniture!

  3. Jeannine Como says:

    Welcome back! It sounds like you had a fabulous time. Can’t wait to see you on Friday, and you can tell us all about it. Who took care of your cats while you were away?

    Your living room looks so nice.

Leave a Reply

