A Dinner with Friends

Nestled in the heart of New England, at the end of a winding road that is covered by a canopy of Autumn-colored trees, is a white farmhouse.  Built in the 1700’s, it has all the charm of an older home, from the wooden beams surrounding the doors to the little chair that is reserved for the grandchildren.  But what really gives the farmhouse its warmth are the stories.  The stories of children weeding the garden.  Of the entire family helping to cut down and chop wood for the winter.  Of taking care of cows, horses, chickens, and every vegetable imaginable.  Of laughter, dinners together, and holidays.

You might remember Mr. and Mrs. C from one of my Saturday Smiles posts, as Nate and I had them over for dinner this past summer.  Mrs. C was my piano teacher growing up, but is now a special friend.  Her husband is the nicest man you will ever meet.  Together, they are the most welcoming of hosts, and when you step into their white farmhouse, you can just feel the love.  Because to them, family and friends really is all that matters.

Before dinner, Nate and I were given a tour around the home, and the rest of the house didn’t disappoint.  It’s beautiful, and quaint, and filled with country charm.

There are rooms filled with books and toys for sleepovers with the grandchildren…

 

And there are rooms filled with the antique, John Deer tractors that Mr. C collects. His collection is better than any museum!  Each tractor holds a memory… a story of a new friend he may have met.

The house is also filled to the brim with memories.  I could have listened to Mr. and Mrs. C reminisce forever.  The stories they have to share are sometimes humorous… sometimes tales of the hard work that a large family required to survive.  But the stories are always about family working together to turn a house into a home.

And I have my very own memory in this house, as well.  The music room!  I haven’t been in there for years, but I’m happy to say that it is as cheerful and musical as ever.  (Finally, I took a current picture of me and Mrs. C together!).  🙂

Honestly, Nate and I would have been perfectly satisfied with the tour of the  home, because it was that interesting.  I mean, it’s an original farmhouse.  Oh, the stories!  But there was dinner to be served, and Mrs. C can cook with the best of them!

For starters, there was a veggie platter with a Dill Dip.  Yes, dill. I was in heaven.  Oh, how I love dill…

And the carrots, tomatoes, broccoli, and green peppers were fresh from their garden.  Mr. and Mrs. C  live off the land as much as possible, by growing all their own vegetables.  (This also includes — among other vegetables and herbs that I’m forgetting — garlic, onions, potatoes, butternut squash, and string beans.).  Don’t get me started on all the homemade pies stored in their freezers.  I don’t think even Martha Stewart could handle that…

Dinner was an amazingly delicious spread.  Homemade bread.  Fresh carrots.  Beef stroganoff served on a plate of steaming hot noodles.  (You know, Nate’s favorite meal.  The one that I can’t yet make, even if my life depended on it).  Now I have to mention that Mrs. C had never made beef stroganoff before, nor had she ever tasted it.  But she still made it for dinner, and the taste was perfect. Nate was beyond impressed (but kindly refrained from asking me why I couldn’t get the taste right when I’ve actually eaten beef stroganoff several times).  😉

 

How we managed to save room for dessert, I’ll never know.

I had brought my Lemon Sunshine cookies (recipe to come soon), and  I think that — due to the weather — they were the perfect choice.  With the rain and wind howling outside, it was nice to have bright, cheerfully lemon cookies to finish off the meal.  Plus, I had been told that Mr. C really likes lemon.  So between Mrs. C and I, I guess you can say that we made sure the guys really enjoyed the meal.  🙂

It was a special evening spent with a couple of wonderful people, and I am most definitely looking forward to the next time we get together.  After all, what can be better than an evening spent with great friends… and delicious food. 🙂

Happy Sunday!!!

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Dinner with Friends

  1. Jeannine Como says:

    Nicole,

    That was a beautiful tribute to our friendship! You do have us pegged, because family and friends is what it’s all about. God has blessed us immensely, and has made our life on earth as wonderful as it can possibly be while we live here, trying to earn a place in heaven and eternity with Him.

    Thank you!

  2. Everything is absolutely beautiful!! I really enjoyed reading this post. 😀

  3. dianacheung says:

    omg. you are such a great person!! you still keep in touch with your piano teacher and she loved you so much to cook for you and the hubs? my teaches couldn’t wait to kick me out! lovely meal!! Ask nate if he can cook it!

Leave a Reply

