Afraid to Try? Then You’ll Never Fly.

 Once upon a time…  Sometime in the future…  Now it’s becoming routine…

I am once again sitting in front of a blank notebook and wondering when my novel will begin to write itself.  When will the pages come to life with the journey of a character who has yet to live? 

My character is so alive in my mind.  I know where she is now, and where she’ll be in the end.  Her struggles.  Her passions.  Her dreams.

But in the end, it’s my dream that I’m afraid to reach for.  Because while I can hit the backspace button on my laptop and clear a word that may have strayed off course, my life is not so easily directed.  I may make mistakes.  I may be uncertain.  I may fail.  And unlike the fate of the character in my novel, I can’t change the ending.

It’s much easier to dream than to achieve.  To always imagine tomorrow, while letting the opportunities of today pass by.  To never have tried and therefore avoid the possibility of what-could-have-been-but-never-was. 

But if I don’t try, then how will I ever know if I can?  That I can. 

My novel hasn’t been worked on much these past couple of months, mostly due to time constraints.  Still I wonder if I let go of the uncertainty and focused more on what I wanted to accomplish — on what was truly important to me — then maybe I would make more of an effort.  Then maybe I would force myself to let go, in order to make time for the writing… the creativity… the turning a dream into a reality.

It’s important to me.  Not because I need to see my name in print, but because I need to write… and because I have a story to share.  So here I am, surrounded by calendars and organizers, making the conscious decision to cut out some things in order to make room for others.  Making the decision to fight for this, each and every day, until the race is won.

What’s your dream and what are you doing to make it come true?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Afraid to Try? Then You’ll Never Fly.

  1. You. Can. Do. It!!

    You’re a fabulous writer, and I know that you’ll approach that point where you can’t *stop* writing out the story.

    My dream is to eventually become a registered dietitian. Sometimes I have to remind myself of that when I’m wondering why I’m doing some of the things I’m doing. 😉

  2. I agree with Sarah, you ARE a good writer. 🙂

    My dream… well, actually, I have a few. 😉 But my main one is to have a happy & successful life without my illness(es) slowing me down. I’m working towards that right now by going through training for my first job in my field… and hoping desperately that this job will be what I think/hope it will be. It sounds too good to be true, to be honest. 🙂 So… over the next few months we’ll see what happens with that – how much/if I like it, etc.

    Also… eventually, someday, I want to write an autobiography. Or at least a novel that basically deals with many of the same issues that my blog deals with (or tries to – I’m finding it difficult to focus…).

  3. Krista says:

    My dream, much like yours, is to write. The problem is I’m not so sure any more what I want to write. I used to think that I wanted to write novels, children’s novels specifically. I still do, but at the same time, I feel a pull to write differently – in much the same way I blog. I love history, specifically history from a more personal perspective. How on earth I can implement that into a writing project, I’m not sure. I am afraid of failure, that’s always been my biggest issue – part of the reason I’m a procrastinator on some things! I like to joke that I’m a procrastinating perfectionist. I’m afraid of failing or not measuring up, so I procrastinate.

    No more procrastination! That’s it. I’m going to start working on a few short articles/stories and see what happens from there. Thanks for the encouraging post!

    PS – You have a wonderful writing voice and I know that your novel will be amazing.

  4. Charles says:

    This is absolutely awesome! I’ve currently in the same space. It’s encouraging to know i’m not alone, it’s also motivating to move forward, so thank you for sharing.

  5. Jeannine Como says:

    You will definitely succed, so why put it off? As for my dreams, they have all been fulfilled. How could I possibly dream for more, when God has blessed me with so much?

  6. justmarriedgirl says:

    Good thing November is National Novel Writing Month: NaNoWriMo.org

Leave a Reply

