Just a Really Good Day

I fell into bed, exhausted, stared at the ceiling and muttered, “Wow, this is a long week.”

And just as soon as I’d said it, I laughed at myself.  Because it was only Monday night.  But here I was again, wishing away the work week so that I could live up the weekend.  I mean, no wonder the year is going by so fast.  There are 365 days, and I’m only living about 100 of them.  And the thing about life is that it won’t slow down for anyone.  I have to live it now!

So yesterday (Tuesday) I challenged myself to enjoy the simple moments (I’d obviously forgotten the theme of my blog) and to experience the day, rather than wishing it were Friday night.

It all started with my waking up a tad bit earlier.  Just those extra fifteen minutes allowed me to slow down my pace so that I could have a leisurely breakfast.  (A breakfast which included an orange cut into juicy segments, as apposed to being peeled and divided.  Really, it’s the only fun way to eat an orange).

Since peeling an orange didn’t cut into the extra fifteen minutes I now found myself owning, I quickly loaded the dishwasher… which is usually my husband’s job at the end of the day.  So now he not only had one less chore to do when he got home from work, but my kitchen was now quite clean.  If that’s not the beginnings of a good day, I don’t know what is.  🙂

But I STILL had a bit of extra time on my hands, so I sat down in my nearly finished living room and just enjoyed it.  I didn’t read.  I didn’t watch television.  I just sat there.  That might sound extremely boring, but — to me — it was the highlight of my day.  😉 I’ve never had my own living room before.  But now we have the furniture we’d been saving up for these past few months.  Just taking some quiet time before a hectic work day really was priceless.  Seriously, you should try it some time!!  (Just not in my living room, because that’s my quiet spot).

Since I was on a roll, I decided to stop by Dunkies for an iced coffee.  After all, that’s a simple pleasure, because I try not to buy coffee too often.  So it’s like a special treat meant to be sipped and savored.  Hmmm, perfectly delicious!  Although I’m a Starbucks girl, Dunkin Donuts does know how to make a good iced coffee. 

For the next eight hours, I worked hard at my desk, making phone-calls and politely asking people to please (PLEASE) pay their bills.  When I got home, I found a voicemail from Nate, advising me that he had to work late but that he’d pick us up something to eat on his way home from work.  (He and I had made plans to go to a movie, so it was his way of saying “I’m so sorry! I’ll make it up to you by not letting you cook dinner.”

So I thought I’d make use of the free time by baking a banana bread.  I had mixed the softened butter, sugar, and vanilla when I realized that I had only one egg.  Not two. So I added some extra oil, crossed my fingers that the end result would be edible, and proceeded with the bread.  Next problem. I only had one banana.  The banana fairy must have eaten the other, because I know I had told Nate not to touch those bananas.  😉  So I just ended up tossing the mess into the trash, because it was getting late and I was in no mood to drive to the store just for a banana.

So I checked the mail to kill time, and there was a special surprise from Cari over at (W)renn’s Nest.  The Starbucks Gift Card I had won in her giveaway.  Thank you SO MUCH, Cari!!!  Let me tell you, that gift card has a pumpkin latte written all over it!!  🙂

When Nate finally called and told me that he was coming home, it was nearly 9pm and I hadn’t eaten supper yet. I had tried – since I was so hungry. But I poured a bowl of cereal only to discover we were out of milk.  Decided to make a sandwich, only to realize we were out of bread.   And began to make a smoothie, only to remember we were out of milk.  (The day before we go grocery shopping is really bad.  I should probably make sure we have more food hanging around during the winter months, because if there’s a bad storm and we get snowed in, we’ll starve).

But anyway, Nate came home with two grilled chicken salads from BK.  Fine dining at its best, right there. 

And we turned on the television and got comfortable in bed with two fuzzy cats.  And I realized that slowing down and just enjoying the moment really is the best way.  There was nothing flashy or exciting about the day’s events.  But somehow, it was just a really good day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just a Really Good Day

  1. Meg says:

    This was such an enjoyable read! I can definitely relate to wishing for the weekend and realizing that I’m overdue for a trip to the grocery store! I love that, despite everything it was such a good day. All because of 15 extra minutes! 🙂

  2. I hate when I find myself wishing the day away, just so that I can get on with my life. Uh..duh. This *is* my life, and sometimes I forget to really slow down and just take it all in. Simplicity is truly where it’s at. 😀

    Thanks for the reminder. 😀

    Loved this post!

  3. love1025 says:

    yay you got the gift card!!! I really hope you enjoy that pumpkin spice latte!!! 🙂 such a great post!!!

  4. Meagan says:

    You look like Sarah in that picture with the banana. Haha.

  5. I’m glad you had a great day 🙂 Simple things in life is what really counts right?

    I find that if I rush in the morning, I feel rushed the whole day and can never catch up on time. I try to prep as much as I can the night before so that in the morning, I can have some extra time. Just a quiet moment to eat breakfast, paying attention to every bite, savoring each sip of your hot beverage is a great pay to start a great day.

    I hope you have more days like these 🙂

  6. dianacheung says:

    I feel relaxed just reading this! BTW slowing down will help with your monthly goals..I find myself shoving things in my mouth when I’m running around everywhere! What I secretly do sometimes is turn off my cellphone or leave it in another room for an hour…JUST an hour just so I can breathe

Leave a Reply

