Traveling Pants

Most of you are probably familiar with the movie (and maybe even the book) known as  Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants.  The story follows four best friends and the pair of pants that magically fits all of them… despite the fact that they have completely different body types.

This movie came to mind a few days ago when I stopped at the mall to buy a new pair of pants.  Now, let me begin this story by making one thing very clear: I hate shopping for pants.  I love shopping for shoes, shirts, hats, and jewelry.  But ask me to go shopping for pants, and I’ll say, “Hmmm, thanks, but I’m all set.”  I’m not a glutton for punishment, and I know how hard it is to find pants that perfectly fit my thighs, butt, and hips. 

The only problem is that I really, really need a new pair of pants for work, so I have no choice but to begin the frustrating process.

So there I was at JCPenny.  And then I was at Sears.  And soon I was browsing the shelves of Macy’s.  (So sad that my mall no longer has a Gap).  I must have tried on fifteen pairs of pants and hated every single one of them.  Finally, I found a pair I liked… But the size 6 was too big and the size 4 was too small. So I obviously needed the non-existent size 5 or a bit of magic.

As I stood in the dressing room and tried to keep a tantrum from erupting, I thought about the movie.  And I realized that as magical as it might be for a pair of pants to perfectly fit four different people, it would be quite magical to find a pair of pants that perfectly fit just me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Traveling Pants

  1. Cat says:

    Amen to that 🙂

  2. Krista says:

    My problem lies in finding pants LONG enough that fit everywhere else. 😛 Frustrating. I finally found the perfect khakis from Old Navy..only for them no longer carry them. 😦 I feel your pain in a way! I don’t have a problem finding pants that fit, it’s just the length that kills me. I don’t like looking like I’m wearing floodsies, lol. 😉

  3. wittywife says:

    Gosh, I felt like you were writing that post about me.

    I’m 4’10”. Yup, you read that right. I can NEVER find anything that fits. When I’m at my optimal weight, I just need to get everything hemmed, and that’s not SO terrible.

    BUT, now that I’m living in a post-body baby, I am having major troubles. If I buy a size 4, the waist fits great, but the legs are too long. No problem, I can have them hemmed, right? Right, except not only are the pants too long, the legs are just TOOOO wide and not at all tailored looking. It’s maddening. I’m seriously ready to consider some XS maternity pants or something.

    So essentially, I don’t wear pants to work. I wear skirts nearly EVERY single day.

    Arghh!

  4. Nic says:

    Girl, I’m feeling this post right now. My pants are a little sung and I know I should probably ditch them and go buy a new pair… or maybe just skip the dessert for a week?? I’d rather do that than try to buy a new pair of pants!

  5. jelillie says:

    Y’know I think it’s unfair that women’s pants come in sizes like 4 and 6 and guys pants all start way up in the 20’s and the 30’s or in my case the 4… oh never mind.

Leave a Reply

