Acorn Candle-Holders

So as you all know, Nate and I are on a budget and currently saving for such items as a couch, curtains, and paint.  Therefore, holiday decorations are taking a back-burner this year when it comes to spending.  But as you also know, I’m just as determined as ever to see the house looking festive!

This acorn candle-holder idea killed two birds with one stone, so to speak.  (I do promise, however, that no birds were harmed in the making of this).  🙂  We bought two end-tables and a coffee table from Pier One, but haven’t yet saved up for the lamps.  I didn’t want the end-tables to be empty for the house-warming, so I added a candle to each.  The glass bowls were a $1 each at a dollar store, the acorns were $4 at a craft store, the candles were 50 cents each at Walmart.  In total, I spent $7 for some cozy Thanksgiving decorations… and now we can put off buying lamps even longer!

All you need to do is fill a glass dish with acorns from a craft store.  Add a bit to the bottom first , then place a small candle on top.  Afterward, pour the remaining acorns around it.

Ta-dah!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Acorn Candle-Holders

  1. I think you just reached the Martha Stewart in you. I need to learn your ways. 😀

    This. Is. Adorable.

    (p.s. I found this site today, and thought you might like it for decorating ideas: http://www.olioboard.com/ )

  2. Meg says:

    Very pretty! Great idea.

  3. Cari says:

    Omg!! So dimple and so easy budget!! I love this idea!!! 🙂

  4. undividing says:

    Very cute!! This made me think about a Christmas candle idea I saw somewhere, where you hot-glue cinnamon sticks around a candle – really cheap but it smells GREAT!

Leave a Reply

