Christmas Shopping. DONE!

In the past, I have been that glossy-eyed, stressed, I’m-about-to-pull-my-hair-out girl squeezing my way through the crowded mall in a desperate attempt to finish my Christmas shopping before the holiday arrives.  This usually occurs the day before Christmas Eve.  By that point, the shelves are bare.  Women really are filling their purses with bricks, lest someone come between them and the present they can’t come home without.  And I am filling my arms with whatever catches my eye, because it’s the thought that counts and my family has to be thankful that I thought of buying them gifts.  It’s not the gift itself that matters.

Right?

I said, am I right?

Switch that stressful, loud, hectic-paced scene with this one…

This year, I had a Christmas list written well before Thanksgiving.  And I checked it twice.  And it led me to the beautiful city of Boston.  My sister Sarah and I took the subway to the Park Street stop, looking for any excuse to walk through Boston’s public gardens.  Weeping willows blowing in the wind.  Sunlight shining across the rippling water.  Geese waddling across the lawn.  Chipmunks running through the trees.  Couples, friends, and families walking along the pathways and enjoying a quiet Saturday afternoon together.  The image of calm. 

And the image of Christmas.

Yes, Christmas has already come to the city, despite the fact that Thanksgiving is just around the corner.  But I  won’t lie.  Since I was in the city for Christmas shopping, it was rather nice to see white lights twirling around the trees, garland bordering store windows, and flower boxes filled with holly trees.  So festive!

And so successful!!  I found some amazing shops that had unique (and surprisingly affordable) gifts for my family and friends.  I stuck to my budget and let my list lead me to the necessary stores.  Soon, my arms were full of shopping bags, and that was fine by me!  Because by the end of the day, I had completed my Christmas shopping and had found gifts even better than I had thought I could.  No more waiting in lines this holiday season!  This girl is finished!! 

Oh, how I love visiting Boston!!

We even made some new friends!  I think my sister wanted to take these two balls of fluff home, but we weren’t sure if our dad would fall for the “they just followed us home” line.

… although we’re pretty sure our dad wouldn’t have minded if this followed us home.  Peanut butter and chocolate cheesecake from the Cheesecake Factory.  It was chocolate, peanut butter perfection! 

It was a successful shopping trip and now I can focus on the fun activities… like wrapping, baking, and sending Christmas cards.  Not that shopping for Christmas presents isn’t fun.  Because it can be.  And today, it sure was.  I’m so excited about the presents I found, and I’m not sure how I’ll wait for Christmas to give them out!!  🙂

Are you a last-minute shopper or do you get your Christmas shopping done early?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas Shopping. DONE!

  1. You know me! Last. Minute. Shopper.

    Although I’m determined to be better this year. 😀

  2. Katie says:

    How fun! That sounds like the most relaxing Christmas shopping experience. I’m a last minute shopper, and I hate it. I have always hated shopping – but during the hustled and bustle of the season, it seems worse. Good for you for getting it done early!

  3. I do my shopping early. Sometimes I even start as early as June or July. (Yes, I’m kind of ridiculous that way. 😮 But it does get the shopping done early, before the gifts that I think are “perfect” are off the shelves!!) It’s so much fun finding the *perfect* gift… I treat it as somewhat of a challenge. 🙂 However, this year I only started in September (I think?)… so I’m a bit slow compared to my normal Christmas planning. 😉

    Oh, & lovely photos – and it sounds like your trip was lovely as well!!

  4. Jeannine Como says:

    I shop early. I am usually finished before the end of October.

Leave a Reply

