Curtain Shopping

So it’s hump day already… and for me, it feels like Friday!!  🙂  Nate is on vacation the entire week, but I — unfortunately — couldn’t take off so much time.  I did take off tomorrow and Friday, so we’ll have three entire days to spend together.  With our work schedules being so different, it’s rare that we both have a day off, so three days is going to feel like a second honeymoon.  🙂

Incorporated into the mini-vacation will be a bit of curtain shopping.  As a Christmas present, my mom and dad offered to help us buy some for the downstairs.  Let me tell you, curtain shopping is not for the faint of heart.  My mom and I thought that we had found some cute ones, but after purchasing them and putting them up in the living room, we decided that they didn’t work.  It kind of looked as though we had wrapped towels around a curtain rod.  😉  So it’s back to the drawing board for us! 

I’m honestly not in a huge rush.  It will be nice to have curtains, but I also want to take the time to find ones we really like.  I’m more into the simple styles, and I’m finding that I must be in the minority.  Most of the curtains had golden lace trims, or sparkly beads, or satiny sashes.  Let me tell you, Scarlett from Gone with the Wind knew what she was doing when she turned curtains into a dress.  Some of them have really nice fabric.  (For the record, I am not so desperate about my wardrobe that I would turn to curtains.  Just thought I’d make that clear).

On the home front, we do have a new couch. The front stair-case divides the front of the house into two rooms, so we needed a second couch for what has become our TV room. We found a really nice leather couch at Jordans Factory Outlet for a great price, and they delivered it yesterday… at 6 am.  (Sleepy face!).  I don’t have any pictures yet, but I will say that it is extremely nice to watch TV while sitting on a couch again.  Sitting on the floor gets old after awhile.  😉

And this weekend, we’ll be adding a Christmas tree to that room!!  Nate and I are buying a real one this year and putting it up on Thursday.  Can’t wait!

Do you have a hard time when it comes to curtains?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Curtain Shopping

  1. Hayley says:

    I actually really need to go shopping for curtains too! I also go for a very simple look, so I’m hoping to find something like that. I am embarrassed to say that I’ve been living in my apartment for 2.5 years and still don’t have curtains for one of my windows. Don’t put it off as long as I did! It may never get done haha.

    • Nicole says:

      I’m only going because my mom offered to pitch in as a Christmas gift. 🙂 If not, I’d probably wait about 2 years too. Ha, ha. It’s over-whelming. But honestly, the more curtains you look at, the more they make sense. …not that I’ve found the perfect ones yet. But I have hope!

  2. Nic says:

    Girl, I’m right there with you! It took my mom and me a couple of tries before we found the right curtains for my living room. They can totally change the mood of a room from basic to cozy, elegant, romantic, etc. Have you tried JCPenny? I had some good luck there! I can’t wait to see what you chose 🙂

  3. Jeannine Como says:

    Did you ever consider hanging the cross-stitch that I made for your wedding gift?

  4. Meg says:

    I can completely relate! My mom and I made curtains for a few rooms in the house and I had no idea what kind of fabric, pattern would look good (especially since we have light brown walls). Luckily, we got through it and they look great. It’s amazing how different curtains can look in your house vs. the store!

  5. You’ll find *the* perfect curtains, Nicolie! If you don’t find them before the weekend, maybe we can make a few pitstops here and there on our way to the HomeGoods store. 😀

    Happy Thursday! 😀

Leave a Reply

