‘L’ is for the way you…

Honesty in a dating relationship or marriage is extremely important… and it’s something that I’ve had to really work at over the years.  When something bothers me, it’s much easier to just smile as though I don’t have a care in the world.  That way, I won’t be accused of being too sensitive, too sentimental, or too emotional.  (Not that my husband has ever accused me of any of those things.  He actually encourages me to be open and honest with him.  And he has proven to be understanding every time).

But do you know what is just as important as being open and honest about things that bother you?

Being open and honest about things that you love.  Now I’m not talking about dropping hints.  Like, “Oh, how I love diamonds.”  Or “Oh, how I’d love a gold watch.”  😉  I’m talking about appreciating the things that my husband already does for me.  Sometimes, it’s easier to focus on the negative and to miss the truly magical moments. 

Like last night.  Nate wouldn’t let me touch the supper dishes, telling me that he’d do them in the morning.  And he pulled out a warm blanket from the closet and turned on a movie, and we snuggled on our new couch.  The Christmas tree cast a cozy glow around the room, and we sipped hot apple cider.  In the middle of the movie, he kissed the top of my head and said, “I love feeling you in my arms.”

I grinned, ear to ear, and said, “I love it too.  And I love it that you help around the house so much that we have time to do this.  Quiet moments like this are my favorite.”

And he was, of course, completely thrilled to hear that.  Sometimes, we need to hear that the other person appreciates us.  Sometimes, we need to know what works and what makes the other person feel protected, loved, and cherished. 

Today, don’t be afraid to tell someone you love that you really appreciate (fill in blank).  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ‘L’ is for the way you…

  1. Nic says:

    Oh my, this post totally warmed my heart! Sometimes the simple moments are the best ones 😉

  2. Aww…I love this. You’re right, the simple moments truly are the best. 😀

  3. Jenna says:

    Can you believe your post just made me tear up? What a beautiful reminder.

  4. Krista says:

    Mmm, yes, such a good reminder. 🙂 My guy spoils me in so many ways and I need to tell him how much I appreciate all that he does.

Leave a Reply

