Technology – My Pet Peeve

The weather here in New England has been cold, as of late.  Yesterday, the temps were a balmy 18 degrees Farenheit, and the fierce wind made it feel about 10 degrees.  Last night, on the way home from church, the temps settled in at about 17 degrees, and I wanted to jump into my tall, styrofoam cup filled with hot cocoa.  I tried to play a game that I had made up as a kid.  You know, the one where you imagine something really warm until you don’t feel cold anymore.  (It never worked for me, but that hasn’t stopped me from trying). 

But as an adult, it’s even harder… especially when your car has a temperature reading which tells you just how unbearably cold it is outside.  I have decided that this is a personal pet peeve of mine.  In the winter, my car is horribly blunt, warning me that the roads could be icy and that the temps outside are not fit for man nor beast.  Why can’t the digital reading just say “cold” when the temps go below 20 degrees?  Why can’t my car tell me that it’s too treacherous outside and that I should go back to bed and forget the dangerous drive into work?  Why does it have to tell me just how cold it is out there? 

I honestly don’t want to know.

You want to know what another pet peeve of mine is?  My new scale.  My husband and I bought one, since — starting tonight — we’ll be going to the gym again.  I stepped on it for the first time this morning, just to see how things change over the upcoming months of working out.  And you want to know what’s written right above the digital reading?

The word “Thinner.”  I’m giving the scale the benefit of the doubt, trusting that it’s telling me I am thinner and not that I need to be thinner.

Technology….  It really is a blessing.  But lately, I feel as though it’s been maybe a bit too blunt.  What happened to thermometers filled with red mercury and scales with dials that moved upward when you stepped on them?  They told the truth.  But they were much easier to ignore.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Technology – My Pet Peeve

  1. Oh technology. I think I could do without it. Most of it anyways. I’ll hold on to my laptop and camera for now, but that’s about it. 😉

  2. Meg says:

    Yipes! That is cold. I hear what your saying about the digital scale. It’s so precise. At least with the old ones you could kind of round (down). What’s one to do?

  3. Caitlyn says:

    Dear me that is very cold! I know how you feel about technology. Some days I love it, other days I don’t.

  4. Krista says:

    Oh gosh, yes, it is c-c-c-cold around here in New England! My car registers temperatures, but it doesn’t tell me when the roads are icy. O_O I don’t think I’d like that.

  5. Nic says:

    When it comes to digital scales I usually give myself a margin of error… like when Pew research puts out a political poll and says that the poll is plus or minus four points… I like to say my scale is plus or minus four lbs … only I usually leave the “plus” part of it out! 😉

  6. dianacheung says:

    a ton of my friends have this brand of scale…I told them to duck tape over that word then proceed to throw that damn scale out the window!

Leave a Reply

