Weddings, weddings, and more weddings

Weddings… weddings… weddings.

I could never get enough of weddings.  Nate says that it’s because I’m a hopeless romantic, and — well — I won’t argue with anyone there.  I love bridal showers and seeing how giddy the bride-to-be is in anticipation of her big day.  I love stepping into a church, all decorated with flowers and bows.  I love watching the groom when the bride walks down the aisle and catching the way his eyes light up the minute he sees her.  I love bridesmaid bouquets, dresses, and hair-do’s.  I love the tall, ornate cakes.  The classy or cute centerpieces.  The oh-so-beautiful brides.

Every wedding is different, yet somehow always perfect. 

And so, I am convinced that next year is going to be THE best year ever (other than the year I myself got married).  😉  Because I have three weddings to attend.  And to top that off, I am the maid-of-honor in my best friend Ashley’s wedding.  She asked me on Friday, thankfully asking me before we made it to the restaurant or else I probably would have made a scene. I’m thinking something along the lines of me standing on a chair and screaming.  😉 

I won’t lie and say that I’m not a little bit apprehensive about this responsibility.  I’ll be in charge of the bridal shower, as well as the bachelorette party (although her mom has assured me that she will assist in any way possible).  And let’s be honest, I’m no Martha Stewart when it comes to decorating.  Ashley, on the other hand, is my most talented friend when it comes to sewing, crafts, designing, and decorating.  I have always said that she is the next Martha Stewart.  So let’s just say that her shower needs to have detail.

But in the end, it’s all about love.  Friendship.  And just having fun.  So I imagine that everything will be perfect.  (Although if any of you want to send a prayer or two my way, please feel free. I could use some creative inspiration). 

(That’s me and Ashley last summer, with her fiance standing on the left and my husband on the right.  In case you’re new to this blog, I’m the one with brown curly hair… and the tallest icecream cone).  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weddings, weddings, and more weddings

  1. bellawilfer says:

    Congratulations, maid-of-honor! I’ve always dreamed of being a bridesmaid; it’s funny, I never imagined I’d be a bride before being a bridesmaid! 🙂

    But yes, weddings are so-so much fun. 🙂 I know you’re going to do an awesome job as maid-of-honor. And believe me, you DO have talent at decorating! 🙂 Just look at the posts you’ve done about making your house a home. I feel like I could take a few lessons from you on wedding planning AND house decor!

  2. Caitlyn says:

    I have never been to a wedding. My little sisters, who are 5 years younger than me, have been to a wedding!! I need to make friends with someone getting married!

    I’m sure you’re going to plan an amazing bachelorette party! Just remember that it’s the memories made, not the decorations, that will last forever. I think I can manage to send a prayer or two your way!

  3. You are going to make the most beautiful maid of honor!! Have fun with it, and everything will turn out amazing. 😀

  4. Karla says:

    Your blog is great. I really enjoyed reading a lot of the posts.
    I’ve been in quite a few weddings too (6) and am a big sucker for a good wedding. Hope you have fun at all of them!

Leave a Reply

