Just Relax’n

So how was your Christmas holiday? 

Mine was a bit more relaxed than usual, due to my not feeling well.  The bronchitis forced me to drop some of my plans, which actually wasn’t a bad thing since it helped simplify everything.  It definitely made for a less hectic holiday, although I really do enjoy the extra baking and details that I usually incorporate into the days preceding Christmas.  And it would have been nice to stay longer at each family gathering, instead of going home because I was hacking up a lung. 

Nate bought me a Christmas bouquet, just in case the bronchitis threatened to give me a case of the blues.  No blues for me when I saw him walk into the kitchen with these babies… 🙂

And the time I did spend with my family was so special and perfect that I didn’t really have the chance to feel disappointed.  You wouldn’t think that I had less of an appetite from being sick, as I was one of the first in line for the food…. closely followed by my hubby.  😉  What can I say?  My family can sure cook and this Christmas was no different.  Sick or not, I wasn’t going to skip Christmas Eve dinner for anything! 

Nate and I had to head out early, because I started to cough really bad… But I drove back to my parent’s house early the next morning to open presents with my parents, sister, and brother.  I think that Christmas — more than any holiday — holds special traditions for my family.  And these traditions help bring us together, no matter how busy we are or where we live.   There’s nothing like it. 

Now, two days later, I’m still trying to get over this bronchitis.  It has kind of zapped my creativity, hence my short blog post full of pics.  No lie, I’ve slept until 9:30 am for the past two days, and then spent most of the day in bed, reading magazines and watching TV.  I decided to take advantage of the two days off from work by relaxing to the max.  Sometimes you really do just need to slow down.

This afternoon, I decided to move around a bit, just to prepare myself to go back to work tomorrow.  So I busied myself in the kitchen…

I made some homemade rolls…

…. and I also made some cinnamon rolls.  It was the perfect way to spend a snowy morning.  Now there’s chicken in the crockpot, and my husband just pulled into the driveway.  He’ll probably want to shovel a bit, and I’ll have a home-cooked meal waiting for him when he comes inside.  I have a feeling that it’ll probably be another lazy evening spent in front of the television. 

Then tomorrow, back to work for me… and then I’ll be back to my usual blog posting.  🙂

Did you enjoy your Christmas?  What did you get?  Who did you spend the holiday with?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Just Relax’n

  1. What a lovely way to relax and unwind! I’m so glad you were able to enjoy the past two days off. 😀

    *Sigh* Christmas is definitely my favorite time of the year

  2. Lisa says:

    Sorry you are sick! I’ve had bronchitis too many times to count. It’s so miserable. I started getting cough medicine with codeine in it just so I could sleep at night (of course it made me sick, too). Feel better!

    Beautiful flowers!

  3. Sorry you were sick, but I’m so glad you were able to kick back and relax some! And oh my gracious, that food looks SO tasty! And hooray for gorgeous flowers! 🙂

  4. Jeannine Como says:

    I hope you’re feeling better! We bumped into Nate at Wal-Mart a few days ago. Did he tell you that I fractured my spine? I spent Christmas kind of high on drugs. It’s starting to feel better, and I’m hoping we’ll still be able to go to Florida on Sunday.

    • Nicole says:

      Yes, Nate told me about your spine… 😦 I’ve been praying that you can still go to Florida, because I know how much you look forward to going every year!! I hope you keep feeling better every day!!

  5. allieksmith says:

    Being sick on any holiday is the worst, especially Christmas! I hope you are feeling better now and enjoyed your flowers!!! 🙂

  6. Caitlyn says:

    It is not fun being sick over the holidays, but at least you are taking it easy. I spent the holidays with my family. Simply having the whole family in the same house for a day was wonderful! I can’t wait until next year!!

    I hope you feel better. For being sick, you make some pretty delicious looking cinnamon rolls. If only there was a virtual taste test so I could try one!

  7. dianacheung says:

    I hope you feel better! Maybe some rest and relaxation is exactly what you needed. Either way, great job at being a trooper and celebrating with your family!

Leave a Reply

