Zzzzzzzzzzz

As a teenager, I worried about random things.  And one such random worry was based around the fact that I got bronchitis nearly every year.  You’d think that I’d be concerned about chronic bronchitis.  Or asthma.  Or maybe even how the intense coughing could possibly affect my future career.

But, no, I remember lying awake one night, unable to sleep because of the coughing, and wondering how my future husband would ever be able to sleep.  Random worry?  Maybe.  But flash forward to the married version of myself, and that random worry is not so random anymore.  For the past week or so, I have been hacking up a lung until after midnight each night. And the thing about bronchitis is that there is  no such thing as a dainty cough.  Each cough is like a full ab work-out.  Intense.  Painful.  Loud.

For the first couple of nights, when I felt a coughing fit come on, I’d sneak out of bed and creep downstairs to sleep on the living room couch.  As a dutiful loving wife, I didn’t want to keep the hubby up all night, just because I couldn’t sleep.  But after a couple of nights of that, the dutiful loving wife just wanted her own bed, so she came to the conclusion that if hubby couldn’t sleep, he could sneak downstairs himself.  Hey, a woman needs her beauty sleep.  😉

Making the decision to stay in bed, despite the loud coughing, was the best decision I’ve ever made, considering how often I get bronchitis.  Because my husband has a super -power.  You know how some men have the ability to tune their wives out during a discussion?  (I’m so not condoning that). Well, my husband can apparently tune me out when he’s sleeping.

I wouldn’t say that he’s a light sleeper, but he’s been known to wake up if the cats are playing in the room or if I had to get up and then came back to bed.  If I’m coughing up a lung, however, he doesn’t hear a thing.  I imagine that I could be coughing up a lung, banging on a drum, and singing the hallelujah chorus at the top of my lungs, and he’d still be lost in dream-land.  How this works, I’m not sure.  All I know is that last night, there was one snoring husband and two snoring cats sleeping in bed with me.  (As happy as I was that Nate could sleep through the coughing, it was a little frustrating to have that many sleeping beings around me when I was forced to stay awake).  😉

So anyway, if I could go back in time and speak to my teenager self, I’d tell her not to worry about the bronchitis keeping my husband awake.  Because when you find your soulmate, it’s amazing how things just work out perfectly.  And I guess his being able to sleep through my coughing bedquakes is just reason # 225 that he’s the guy for me!  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Zzzzzzzzzzz

  1. Awww. I hope you feel better! Bronchitis is awful 😦

  2. Hahaha! This cracked me up! I love that you have such a good sense of humor about being sick and I love that things worked out so perfectly for you and your husband! I used to worry that my sleep-talking would keep my husband up, but it doesn’t. I mean, when we first got married it did, but he’s gotten used to it and sleeps right through it now!

  3. Meg says:

    That’s so funny you were laying wide awake and wondering how your husband would handle your coughing. Sorry you get sick every year, that is no fun! I’m glad that he’s able to tune you out. I don’t think mine has quite mastered that, but he’d rather have me in bed and coughing or blowing my nose than be without me. 🙂

  4. Sarah says:

    This is a funny post. My husband and I are the same way. I cannot sleep through anything at all and he can sleep through anything. He is always sweet to me in the middle of the night if I had a bad dream or got cold, but then in the morning he has zero recollection of any of that.

  5. blada says:

    Wow. I hate to think how much time we each miss out on while we’re worrying about things that MIGHT happen. I’d love t to let go of that habit. Glad to hear your husband miraculously isn’t wakened by your cough – and hope you find a cure!

Leave a Reply

