Cleaning can wait!

Normally I don’t post on the weekends, but this long weekend (I have tomorrow off from work!) finds me being a bit lazy, as far as chores are concerned.  Dusting?  The dust bunnies will still be there next week.  Tidying up?  Just a quick attempt.  The weather is exceptionally warm for January in New England (50 degrees F!), and I have spring fever to the max!  Walking to Dunkin Donuts with the hubby for hot chocolate?  Definitely a must!  Cleaning can wait! 

(I love that the only Dunkies in our small town is situated a mere half mile from our house).  🙂

 Today is a bit on the foggy / cloudy side, so all I want to do is bake, write, and read.  And that’s exactly what I’m going to do!  Hey, I’m just recovering from bronchitis, so I have an excuse, right?  (The coughing seems to be over, but not before I bruised a rib.  It hurts to walk straight, so I’m kind of hobbling around like Quasimodo).

Thankfully, I’m not surrounded by gargoyles like he was.  Instead, I have these two fuzzy ‘monsters’ watching my every move.

What’s first on my list to bake?  Banana bread!  🙂

What’s your favorite thing to bake when you have an afternoon to yourself?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cleaning can wait!

  1. Haha..that picture of the kitties always cracks me up. 😀

    I love baking banana bread when I have an afternoon to myself! Either that or a batch of granola because then I get all the crumbs that don’t make it into the container, all to myself. 😉

  2. Caitlyn says:

    Bread!! I love kneading the bread and smelling the yeast as it rises. It’s very relaxing. I also adore making (taste testing…) granola bars. Have a fun and lazy day baking!

  3. Loved the new layout, girl!
    You’re so right – cleaning could definitely wait 🙂
    Happy 2011!
    xoxo

  4. Girl! You are SO adorable! Love that shot of you!

    And the picture of the kitties is hilarious! 🙂

  5. Those cats are hilarious! And I agree – you’re so cute with the coffee! We spent a few nights making sweet potato pancake batter and freezing it – along with making a horrible mess. So I am taking a kitchen break today 🙂 Enjoy your day off!

  6. blada says:

    Cranberry orange scones with whipped cream and hot tea!

Leave a Reply

