Pizza, pizza

Since we’ve been on the topic of having pizza at home on Friday nights — as apposed to going out — I thought I’d share a fun pizza recipe I’ve come across.  🙂  Hey, I know how hectic life can get. And when you’re in a super busy period of life, staying home and just chillaxin’ is probably ‘just what the doctor ordered’.  We all need time to relax, whether it’s to enjoy some “me-time” or to have a quiet evening with someone special.  Without a bit of down time, I think we’d all go crazy.  😉

The fun thing about this pizza ‘recipe’ is that it takes about 10 minutes from start to finish.  It’s all about simplicity, fun, and originality.

I was first introduced to Tandoori Naan breads several weeks ago, and I can honestly say that I’m hooked.  They’re all-natural.  Come in three varieties (whole grain, original, or garlic).  And offer a variety of creative meal options.  (Check out their website for more ideas:  http://www.fabulousflatbreads.com/recipes/). 

I find that Naan breads make the perfect pizza crust.  Just place the Naan breads on a cookie sheet and broil them a bit so that they don’t get soggy from the pizza crust.  Heat up your favorite pizza sauce in the microwave (you can buy all-natural sauces from your supermarket or — if you have the time — make your own) and spread onto the heated crust.  Top with shredded cheese and then add veggies galore.  My favorite combination?  Cheese, mushrooms, green peppers, and diced tomatoes.  But broccoli, onions, and anything else you can imagine would be amazing too.  🙂  After you’ve topped the pizza, just place it back under the broiler until the cheese melts and bubbles.

The Tandoori Naan breads come with two flat breads, so it’s perfect for a night in with that special someone.  You can have a ‘make your own pizza night’ without the hassle of making pizza dough and pizza sauce.  (Although a homemade pizza is on my list of things to do this month, because that sounds like fun too). 

And you can get really creative.  Why not try making a BBQ chicken pizza?  Or a Hawaiian pizza?  The possibilities are endless.  🙂

Have you tried Naan breads before?  Did you use them to make pizza or did you make something different?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pizza, pizza

  1. First off, I love pizza in all it’s forms. I’ve definitely used naan before as pizza crust, but usually we stick to our homemade pizza version. However… naan is surprisingly easy to make. And it keeps well. I’m not sure how long it will keep since it never lasts long around our house, but making your own is inexpensive and fabulous because you know every single ingredient that goes into it! Our recipe (http://thisitalianfamily.wordpress.com/recipe-book/naan-indian-bread/) actually comes from my sister, Melissa, who makes lots of Indian food and it is SO good. We usually make it when we have chicken tikka masala (another Indian recipe I got from Melissa) and it is a delightful combination! 🙂

  2. Meg says:

    I haven’t used naan before (that I can remember) but I love using pita bread for an easy shortcut. 🙂

  3. I *love* naan bread! You totally turned me on to the pizza idea when you made me one last week. Crispy, cheesy, delicious. 😀

    (p.s. your last post on being spontaneous and young was absolutely *brilliant* by the way! Loved it! :D)

  4. Wow!
    It’s the first naan pizza I’ve seen that got me thinking “Holy YUM!”
    Great job, Nicole!
    Hahaha 🙂

  5. dianacheung says:

    although I love that product I’ve found a nutritionally more sound one: alternative bagel’s whole wheat pitas. They are huge and soft and only 100 calories. You should try it.

Leave a Reply

