Just a Step at a Time

We’re nearly a week into the new year…  Everyone from talk-show hosts to my friends at work are all asking me the same question:  How are the New Year’s resolutions coming along?  And my answer to all of them?  A little pout and a sigh.

This pout and sigh translates into “not so good,” but I can’t seem to get myself to admit it.  Because it’s not entirely my fault.  The chocolate chip icecream was literally calling my name.  And my husband said he wouldn’t get himself a hot chocolate unless I had one too… and he really wanted one, so I couldn’t stand to say ‘no’.  And to be fair, we did attempt to go to the gym.  That I had forgotten to bring my sneakers and was instead wearing my ballet flats was just a fluke.

A fluke, I tell you.  Pointing fingers will do absolutely no good.

Last night, I pulled out my notebook and looked at the food I’d eaten over the week and the amount of exercising I had done.  (I’m currently keeping a food and exercise journal to track my progress).  And I felt a little bit discouraged.  Because I had been so sure that this was the year I’d be perfect at all my resolutions.  (Hey, a girl can dream).  And while I’ve done really good with some (like being more spontaneous, reading more, and even working on my novel), I’ve done just so-so with others.  Okay, okay.  I did kind of bad with others. 

Okay, fine.  I haven’t even done anything with others.  😉

And these are the ones that are important to me.  These are the ones that I really need to kick up a notch.  Like working out regularly.  Eating more fruits and veggies.  Letting go of some of that extra sugar by eating fewer sweets.  I really feel that I’ve been a bit lazy as far as my health is concerned; and while I’m still a healthy girl at a healthy weight, my body is definitely begging me to be more active and to eat more greenage. 

Hello, Spinach!

When it comes to resolutions, it’s so easy to think, “Well, there’s always next year.”  Or, because we’re just starting a new year, it’s easy to think, “Well, I’ll start tomorrow.”  Because we feel that we failed today.  The thing is that goals aren’t meant to be achieved over-night.  If they were that easy, they wouldn’t be goals.  They’d be thoughtless actions, like breathing or brushing teeth.  But no, they’re goals.  They’re meant to be worked at and achieved a little bit at a time.

So when I might fall short, it doesn’t mean that I failed.  It means that I simply need to try again.  And the fun thing about keeping this food and exercise journal is that at the end of the year, I’ll be able to look back and see just how far I’ve come.  🙂

How are you coming along with your resolutions?  Which one is giving you the most difficulty?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Just a Step at a Time

  1. I made a goal to read a book a month and I haven’t even opened a page in this new year!

    But you’ve reinspired me. I only watch tv on Tuesdays and the weekend now, so there’s no excuse for not enough time at night. And honestly, I don’t know *where* my night goes, but it should involve a little bit of reading. Especially since I have an entire row of fresh new books that I’m totally excited about. 😉

  2. Aww you will get there! The good thing is that you are realizing that you haven’t met your expectations yet instead of just pretending like you have. That’s the great thing about blogging – you have lots of accountability here! I know you can keep your resolutions and do great with them! 🙂

  3. Nic says:

    Sometimes it’s hard to do it all at once! Give yourself a break and think about how to make working out and eating better easier. Maybe a different workout routine or a few new recipes to make it fun? You’ll make it through! I can’t wait to watch the progress 🙂

  4. Meg says:

    Hey good for you for keeping a journal! I keep telling myself that I should do that to track what I’m eating, but I kind of don’t want to face the music. 😉 Sometimes, it’s hard to just get in the habit again. Keep trying and you’ll get there! So far, I’ve been faring ok on my resolutions and monthly goals but I’m still struggling with not procrastinating!

  5. dianacheung says:

    girl give yourself time!!! Or make ONE change at a time!! No wonder you are overwhelmed you are trying to eat better AND exercise AND THIS and THAT? Maybe one week focus on exercise then slowly add in the good foods while minimizing the “bad” ones!! I’ve been doing “okay” on my goal…which is to stop hating my body…can’t stop looking tat the mirror and judging 😦

    • I hear you there, with the body-hate. 😦 I struggle with that as well… it’s a never-ending battle. I’m sorry that you are having a hard time with it… it’s so difficult to see ourselves in a positive light!!

  6. I have decided that this year I am making no New Year’s resolutions. Why? Because I always, inevitably break them, and subsequently, always and inevitably feel awful about it. The only thing that I am going to try and accomplish this year is to paper-journal more frequently. I challenged myself to write every day, but I’m not beating myself up over that challenge.

    The things that I would “normally” have as resolutions are things I need to do anyway. Like eat more, exercise more, stay motivated in recovery (which is oh-so-much tougher than it sounds!!)… the list goes on. It’s endless. Which is why I haven’t written them down… I know what I have to do, it’s just being “ready” to do them. Or sucking it up and forcing myself to do them anyway.

    Try not to beat yourself up over allll of those resolutions that you have. The whole point of having made them in the first place is to better yourself and your quality of life. Getting frustrated/upset/overwhelmed when you aren’t sticking to them perfectly is not doing either of those things.

    *hugs*

  7. whosleilani says:

    I resolved to not freak out when my dreams don’t come true right away.
    Good luck, me, right?
    But the resolution to cook more Thai food is going splendidly.:)

Leave a Reply

