The Art of Bargain Shopping – Part 3

If I had to choose one phrase to describe bargain shopping, I’d have to go with: “worth it but slow”.  😉  My wardrobe will hardly be saved over-night.  And this wouldn’t be a problem if I didn’t have an office job, which requires me to dress professionally five days a week.  After a month of wearing the same clothes week in and week out, I was identifiable not only by my face but also by the striped sweater that I was wearing… again.  In fact, had I walked into work with a paper bag over my head, everyone would probably still smile and say, “Hi, Nicole,” as I passed by.  Ugh!

And so, I was forced to learn the art of bargain shopping for accessories.  And honestly, just between you and me, it’s almost as fun as clothes shopping.  Maybe more…. 

Last week, I went a bit crazy when it came to buying new tank tops, because they seemed to be on sale everywhere.  Not boring, plain ol’ cotton tank tops.  I’m talking tanks with a sprinkle of glitter.  Ruffles.  Just the perfect touch of pizzaz.  Tank tops that — in the summer months — could be worn alone with a cute pair of jeans and a nice pair of boots.  I have learned, however, that tank tops can also turn an ordinary sweater into extraordinary.  And it can make that same ol’ sweater feel brand new every time.

(source)

Suddenly, with the help of assorted tank tops, I was turning a handful of sweaters into several outfits. 

It’s all about adding new colors and textures really.  Wearing a red silk scarf with your gray blouse — instead of reaching for the blue one you wore last week — will completely change the look.  Now I’ll admit that I have a hard time when it comes to wearing scarves, but my sister looks absolutely beautiful in them.  (See pic below for case in point).  She just throws one on and it kind of falls into place so perfectly. I, on the other hand, stopped trying after nearly strangling myself.

But anyway, scarves are a great accessory to play with if you are so talented… 

Add dangly earrings instead of the small, gold hoops.  Go for a bold, chunky bracelet.  Then switch it all up and go for the simple look again.

When you’re looking for sales, check out the jewelry too, because you don’t have to break the bank when it comes to accessories.  Although it’s nice to have some expensive pieces that will last forever, you can easily buy affordable jewelry that will add a touch of fun to your wardrobe… without depleting the clothes budget.  This bracelet was on sale for $1.99 at New York and Company! 

(source)

There’s really no limit to what you can change; and oftentimes, accessories go on sale for ridiculously low prices.  (Is anyone else thinking TJ Maxx and Kohls?).  You can add fun hats, purses, headbands, and belts to help keep things interesting.

(source)

There’s so many possibilities!

But let me end my three days of bargain shopping with this… When it comes right down to it, it’s all about you just being happy with yourself.  Because that’s free.  And don’t ever forget that.  You don’t need designer clothes or lots of jewelry.  And it doesn’t matter if you’re wearing the same ol’ striped sweater. 

You’re beautiful just because you’re you! 

(source)

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Art of Bargain Shopping – Part 3

  1. I am absolutely loving your bargain shopping tips and tricks, because honestly…I need help! I am a horrible compulsive buyer who feels that if I don’t buy the item that I love now, it will be gone forever. And then, more times than not, I go back a week later and it’s on sale for half off. *Sigh*

    I think you need to take me shopping and give me some hardcore lessons in bargain shopping. 😀

    (p.s. I think you would look beautiful in scarves…imagine a cute scarf and an adorable hat? We just need to find the right one. 😀 )

  2. Yes! I have the same problem with scarves. My sister looks fabulous in them and wears them all the time. I feel like I can’t ever get them to fall just right. 😦

    I love your tips on accessories! I have so many, but day-to-day, I just wear the same old same old. I really should wear the other stuff I have more often. In fact… I will! Today! Thanks for the inspiration! 🙂

  3. kylajoyful says:

    I read this literally about 3 minutes after feeling really insecure about what I was wearing, because most of my friends are really trendy and I…wear the same sweaters every day that are not-so-trendy. Your last paragraph was exactly what I needed to read. Thanks!

    • Nicole says:

      Awww, hugs!!! I know how that feels, for sure! It’s so easy to base our worth on the outward, when it’s really the inside that counts. And smiles are free, thank goodness. They’re the best accessory to have anyway! 🙂

  4. leonabriggs says:

    I want to be one of those women who can just throw on a scarf and look fabulous! But, I am so not that woman!

Leave a Reply

