A Love Letter

To my Husband,

I was at the supermarket yesterday when I noticed an elderly couple. 

They were well into their eighties, and If I had to guess, I’d say that they had been married over fifty years.  They shuffled along slowly, holding hands.  After all that time together, they were still close and in love.  It was obvious.

He laid a protective, wrinkled hand on her elbow when she carefully shuffled over some ice.  And when they got to their car, he slowly moved ahead and opened the car door for her.  She smiled sweetly, her face lighting up as though they were on their first date.

It made me realize that I worry about finances sometimes. And I worry about my dreams not coming true.  Once in awhile I worry about how we’ll afford kids, how I’ll get my break as a writer, how we’ll ever finish everything that needs to get done in our home.

But when I saw them, I realized that if I had but one wish to make, my wish (and prayer) would be for us to happily grow old together. For me, that would be enough.  Everything else pales in comparison.

I love you always,

Your Wife

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Love Letter

  1. tknologlvr says:

    Such a sweet letter!

  2. vixter2010 says:

    I hope I find that one day 🙂 So sweet!

  3. Aw. This made me tear up. Beautiful.

  4. livvy30 says:

    You have to watch this film. The old couple with make you tear up. http://www.iheartnewyorkthemovie.com/

  5. Tien says:

    this is the sweetest love letter ever!

  6. This is really so very very precious! Love it!

  7. Nathan says:

    Thanks for that, darling. You make my heart smile! I love growing old with you, one day at a time.

  8. mynext50yrs says:

    Nicole..we are on year 29 of marriage, and that is not counting the couple of years leading up to that big day …..
    I always tell my honey that we will be folks on the add on tv walking thru the park holding hands….me with my fedora and her with her big down parker….
    growing old together needs to be the mantra of you young folks…stay the course, and like fine wine, it gets better year after year…

Leave a Reply

