Just a Splash of Color

Here in New England, we’re in the heart of winter.  In January alone, we’ve had sub-zero temperatures and so many snow-storms that I’ve lost count.  It’s freezing.  Frosty.  Cold.  And every other ‘brrrr’ word you can think of.

Oh, yeah, and let me add two more words to describe my winter thus far.  White.  Heavy.

Everything is buried under the white snow.  The trees are bare and gray.  How can the landscape be so beautiful, yet almost insanely colorless?

And so, I was inspired by several blogger friends who took it upon themselves to add a touch of sunshine and color to their winter. They bought themselves flowers.  I closed my eyes a moment and imagined a huge bouquet of gerber daisies sitting on my dining room table.  Just thinking about them made me smile!

But as I haven’t had the chance to make it to the store, I had to substitute my bouquet for a large bow of veggies.  Just as colorful and bright, right?  😉  And seriously, they smell just like summer!

I just need to remember to tell the hubby that this is a temporary fix… and that I would not appreciate a tomato for Valentine’s Day.  😉

How do you add color to your winter?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Just a Splash of Color

  1. vixter2010 says:

    Brrr looks so cold! I like the colour of hot chocolate! 🙂

  2. jelillie says:

    Nicole if you sleep through the winter you don’t miss the color so much 🙂

  3. “I would not appreciate a tomato for Valentine’s Day.”

    Hehehehe! Love it! Christopher brought me gerbera daisies… they are still on our kitchen table and every time I see them I feel like I see a little bit of sunshine. 🙂

  4. I love your choice of adding summer and color into the winter! 😀

  5. Caitlyn says:

    Paint my nails! Ok, that would be a lie. I have really only painted my nails 5 times in my whole life. But it sure would be a way to always have something colorful “on hand.” Ha ha ha…

Leave a Reply

