Super Bowl Prep

And so it was the morning of the Superbowl… 🙂

I’m not sure how you and your family celebrate the Superbowl, but my family goes all out.  I think that the coming together revolves around the football.  But the excitement just might revolve around the food.  And maybe the commercials.  I wasn’t impressed last year by the commercials, so the powers that be had better step it up this year.  😉 

Anyway, my team isn’t playing this year, but that hasn’t stopped the celebrating. The anticipation. And the baking.

I spent my entire Saturday afternoon putting together food for tomorrow’s buffet.  My contribution consists of Sage Spaghetti Squash, homemade meatballs, and a potato salad.  I also made the girliest dessert possible, which originally hadn’t been my intent. But I have come to the conclusion that the cheerleaders had to be represented somehow, right?

(Recipe will be provided next week, as long as it tastes good. Ha, ha. I haven’t tried it yet, so I couldn’t yet give my seal of approval). 

The refrigerator is filled with goodness, and I can’t wait to dig in! 

And I’m also glad that I spent yesterday cooking instead of pushing it off to today.  Because this morning, I actually get a much-needed break.  Pastor Nick called last night to cancel today’s church service, on account of yesterday’s ice storm. (Yes, more foul weather. We’re also supposed to get more snow on Tuesday and then Thursday. No lie, roofs are caving in all around New England, on account of how heavy the snow is).

The trees are beautiful today though.  They’re covered in ice, and the sun is shining through them and causing them to SPARKLE!

So I slept in this morning and am enjoying a leisurely breakfast.  Sometimes, a girl just needs a leisurely morning, and it’s been way too long since I’ve had one. Hmmm, feels so good!

Are you doing anything for the Superbowl?  Will you be watching it? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Super Bowl Prep

  1. tknologlvr says:

    I’m with ya all the way, Nicole! Food makes the game!

  2. sarahnsh says:

    Your food sounds and looks delicious, yum! I think that is the best part about any of these things, food, food, and lots more food!

  3. Leona Briggs says:

    Wow! That dessert looks scrumptious!

  4. Caitlyn says:

    I hope your dessert turns out well! I’m not watching the game, but I can hear my parents cheers downstairs! It is quite amusing listening to them from up in my room 🙂

    That is really scary about the roofs caving in. At least the tree’s are *sparkling,* right?! Stay safe and warm!

  5. I followed people who were talking about it on Twitter, does that count?
    I’m quite happy that football season is over so I don’t have to listen to my husband/dad/father-in-law/brothers-in-law/male friends talk about football all the time

Leave a Reply

