A Girl and her Bed

One fact about me:  I love my sleep.  No, I’m not one for taking naps — ever — and I’m not one of those people who can sleep in ’till noon.  Honestly, I’m a relatively early riser, and 8am is extremely late for me when it comes to sleeping in.  That said, my body apparently needs eight hours of sleep to function.

Once I’ve passed my ‘bed-time’, I shut down and my hands automatically begin searching for the nearest pillow.  It’s like zombie mode turns on, and I have no idea who’s talking, where I am, or what day it is. I am fully aware of how far I need to drive or walk in order to reach my bed.

Case in point… Last night, after the Super Bowl party, my mom and sister started packing up a bunch of leftovers for me and Nate to take home.  And waiting those few extra minutes for Tupperware containers to be found and then filled just seemed like an eternity.  Exhaustion set in. And I started walking out the door, fully aware that my crock-pot was still sitting on their kitchen counter.  Just too tired to care. 

Yep, zombie mode. 

Nate says that this is all really my fault. I wake up early every day (even on weekends) and then go, go, go.  So when it’s time for bed, my body just kind of melts into the sheets and pillow. 

When he and I first got married, I sighed one night after crawling into bed and muttered, “Sometimes, bed feels so good.”  And he agreed.  But now that I say it every night, and he now chimes in for amusement’s sake, it’s official. I’m just in love with my bed. 

And why not?  It’s warm, and comfortable, and the place where I can forget how busy my day had been while just sleeping off the exhaustion.  What can I say?  Sometimes, bed really does feel so good! 

Do you need your eight hours of sleep every night? Or are you one of those people who can stay up really late and then still wake up feeling refreshed? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A Girl and her Bed

  1. Megan says:

    Umm. Ya. Definitely love my bed too…staying up late as I did last night to finish up my latest blog post “Insecurities,” was a bad choice as my eyes are barely opened as I type this. Sadly too, I must have been so tired last night when writing it, because upon rereading my post this morning, I don’t actually remember writing all that I did. Kubda scary actually bt am very pleasantly surprised by the end result of my post. Noy too shabby for someone who was pretty much asleep!

    Enjoy your bed my dear….they are a heavenly place to rest your soul…for soothing your mind…for resting your thoughts.

  2. vixter2010 says:

    I am EXACTLY the same – I need 8 hours but go to bed early and get up early, I can’t remember the last time I slept past 8! My body can’t change from the week to weekend, It’s still on work schedule. Sigh.
    I also heart my bed – I have a 40 tog duvet that is like a big bear hug 🙂

  3. I’ll join the club! I love my bed and definitely need 8 hours of sleep…optimally between 11pm and 7am (12am and 8am on the weekends) Nothing feels so good as crawling into a bed with fresh cool sheets and pulling a warm heavy quilt over one’s self after a long day!

  4. tknologlvr says:

    No naps?! I love them. I do not get eight hours of sleep a night, though. I’m lucky to get six or seven. Plus, running 25 miles per week wears me down some. So, I try to sneak in naps on the weekend if nothing is planned. My entire family are night owls and we still have to get up early. I do feel the same about my bed as you do yours.

  5. Carin says:

    i don’t function well on less than 8 hours, although in medical school you often have to. not fun.

  6. Krista says:

    Oh, I definitely need my 8 hours of sleep, otherwise I’m a zombie…or I inevitably get sick. 😛 I’ve gotten teased about it, especially since it’s early to bed, early to rise for me. Oh well…

  7. leonabriggs says:

    I can never sleep as well in any bed other than my own!

  8. Oh girl, I could’ve written this post too! I’m the exact same way! And I definitely have to have 8 hours of sleep!

  9. Tien says:

    I can’t stay up late at night anymore. If I do, no matter what time I wake up the next morning, I still feel tired. Maybe age is catching up. And yes, I love my bed too, very much!!!

  10. I looove my bed. I need 8-10 hours of sleep to feel marginally rested (closer to 10 hours is preferred), and I don’t do naps anymore. I used to take 2+ hour naps nearly every day, though (and that is still with the 8-10 hours of sleep per night), and with all that sleep was still exhausted.

  11. justmarriedgirl says:

    I need at least nine hours and a nap, and this was before pregnancy! I might be in trouble when baby arrives.

  12. sarahnsh says:

    I totally love my bed too, and I also love my lap top. I used to be able to just have around 5 hours or so, but now I need around 8-9 hours. I used to be able to stay up really late but I can’t do that so much either. I’m just like an old lady now!

Leave a Reply

