I lost my panic button…

A lesser woman would have freaked out.  Would have erupted into a mess of tears and a thousand-word-tirade.  Or, well, considering the fact that we’re talking about me, the tirade probably would have been much longer than just a thousand words.  Anyway…

There I was sitting at work, calling my hubby to tell him that I’d be a bit late getting home.  The conversation went like this:

Nate:  I’m actually heading out myself.

Me:  Oh, yeah?  What for?

Nate:  I need supplies.

Me:  What for?

(I’m a bit nosy)

Nate: I have to fix the hole.

Me:  Wait, what hole?

Nate:  Hmmm, I kind of put a large hole in the wall, so I need to fix it.

Yes, a lesser woman would have blown up right then and there.  And if you ask me, a lesser woman would have caused a bit of a scene when she walked into her living room and then saw the before-mentioned hole.  See, Nate and I had ordered a new TV with tax-returns, since our tiny one was causing guests to go cross-eyed.  (I, personally, was fine with it.  The TV I mean.  Not the cross-eyed guests).  And the flat-screen TV can hang on the wall, which seemed like the modern, spiffy thing to do.  Except, in order to hide the cords running from the TV, Nate had to make a small incision in the wall… which turned into major surgery.

But I’m not a lesser woman.  So I just stood there calmly, took in my husband who was patching up the hole, and then asked, “So what do you want for dinner?”

And I was proud of myself!  After all, the hole was already there.  What would screaming do?  (Besides, my husband is very good at patching up holes in walls. I’ve seen him in action before, so really there are no worries there). 

Twenty minutes later, I was sitting at the kitchen table with my laptop…  Suddenly, the kitchen light-fixture let go of the ceiling and smashed into a thousand pieces all around me.  I haven’t touched that light since we moved in, so it’s  not like we just cleaned it and then didn’t put it up right.  No, that light was the plainest light fixture you could find, so I imagine that it’s ruin gave it the most attention it’s ever received.  I sat there, frozen, wondering if I should run outside, in case the roof was finally caving in from the snow.

But instead, much to my husband’s amusement, I calmly went to the  closet, grabbed the broom, and stated, “I really hated that light anyway. Now we can buy a new one.”

Why cry over a light that’s already broken, especially when the light was an ugly one?

But when the closet door started to open by itself, and I just tilted my head and wondered why a closet door would open by itself, I began to feel concerned.  Am I just being a better woman or have I lost my ability to panic?

I have come to the conclusion that I am just over-tired, so each response has been super low-key.  So Nate lucked out and picked the perfect time to put a hole in our wall. And I picked a perfect couple of days to play hooky (approved hooky, by the way.  My managers approved the time off).  So today, instead of going to work, I shall be shopping-till-I’m-dropping with my mom and sister.  And tomorrow, I shall be spending the entire day with my hubby.  If that doesn’t bring me back to normal, than I don’t know what else would.  🙂

(Oh, by the way, my cats have apparently learned how to open closet doors if they’ve been accidentally locked inside). 

Happy Tuesday!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I lost my panic button…

  1. vixter2010 says:

    Wow, I think I would have freaked out slightly so well done for staying calm! Good job the light missed your laptop as well. Have fun shopping, I always find it sorts me out – retail therapy, no lie!

  2. Caitlyn says:

    My panic button would have been broken by the end of that day! I can’t believe you stayed so calm with a light fixture exploding to pieces around you! Kudos for keeping your calm 🙂

  3. leonabriggs says:

    There is wisdom and calm that just comes with growing older–that’s one of the perks! I know you are not “old”, but we are all getting “older” as the days go by!

  4. I would have freaked if it started raining light fixture on me!

  5. Way to be so calm! Even if it is just being tired, at least you’re putting things in perspective and not making a big deal out of stuff.

    I had a light fixture fall one day while I was nannying (at the home of the family, not my home) and it fell right where their infant usually rolled around the floor playing (she happened to be down for a nap at the time). It scared me, but I quickly let it go and sent up a prayer of thankfulness that no one was hurt. I always feel like I would freak out in situations like that, but then surprise myself from time to time (especially if I’m the responsible adult and children are involved). We’ll see how that holds up after we have kids though. 😉

  6. sarahnsh says:

    Ghosts! I blame it all on ghosts! I can be extremely calm in some situations, and in other situations I will just freak out. That’s great that you handled it so well too, much better than how I would respond.

  7. Haha…I love this. You are my hero and my inspiration. :mrgreen:

  8. Oh … I just laughed out loud about this … thank you for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

