Shopping Daze

There are two giant shopping bags sitting at the foot of my bed.  They are filled with bargains.  Adorable finds.  And I can’t wait to dig through these bags and to pull out each new item, only to try on each new piece once more.   I can’t wait to share my finds with you fashionista’s.  (After all, if you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, you know just how badly I need each new addition to my wardrobe).

But first, I must take the time to introduce you to the experience that is shopping with me, my sister, and my mom.  (That and the fact that I’m too tired to try all those clothes back on again).  😉

You’ve undoubtedly heard the phrase, “We shopped until we dropped” before…  To go shopping with me, my mom, and my sister is to bring this simple phrase to life.  It’s to bring it to a whole new level.  It’s to leave your house at 8:30 am and to not return again until 7:30 pm.

It’s to walk through store, after store, after store, searching for bargains and sales.  It’s to realize that around 11 am, you’re starting to go into a daze.  So you eat lunch. And it’s to realize that around 2pm, you’re starting to laugh for no apparent reason due to exhaustion. So it’s time for coffee. (Honestly, a cup of coffee can easily add on another four to five hours of shopping time).

Shopping with my mom and my sister is exhilaration.  It’s finding the most adorable pair of boots on sale for $25.  It’s discovering the perfect accessory to go with the top you were planning to wear for Valentine’s Day.  It’s walking through the mall with a bag that makes you look a little like Santa Claus… and that’s so heavy your biceps are beginning to scream ‘uncle’.  It’s knowing that you spent a hundred dollars less than you could have, just because everything was 50-70% off. 

It’s reaching the point that food and caffeine can’t help you.  Your feet are dragging.  Your head is hanging a bit low.  You just want to lie down, even if it’s to lie down on the floor.

(My sister Sarah was lucky enough to find a cozy nook in the dressing room…

… while I was stuck with the wall).

But despite the exhaustion, sore feet, and the fact that I feel as though I spent the afternoon lifting weights, I can’t wait for our next shopping trip.  Because I found some cute bargains, even if I’m currently too tired to take them out of their  bags.  And most importantly, I spent the entire day with my mom and my sister.  Two of my best friends.  And that, my fashionista’s, is priceless!

More about the newest additions to my wardrobe coming in the next day or so!

But first, a question…  After a shopping trip, do you try on all of your new clothes again?  Or do you just put them away until you’re going to officially wear them?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Shopping Daze

  1. Awww this post made me smile so much! This sounds JUST like me shopping with my mom and sisters!! We have one huge shopping trip a year when we all go down to the Foley Outlets in AL and spend a full day shopping. It’s such a fun tradition! Can’t wait to see all your new finds! And yes, I definitely try everything on again when I get home. 😉

  2. vixter2010 says:

    Love shopping, my mum and I are exactly the smae – I come home exhausted, feet killing me, purse much lighter and collapse in the chair swearing we are crazy 🙂 I’m usually not up to trying it all on again but I like to wear my new things as soon as I can!

  3. allieksmith says:

    I love it! I want to go shopping with you and your mom and your sister now 🙂 you guys sound like so much fun and I totally agree that a good cup of coffee can add a few hours of shopping onto the day, especially is that coffee has an extra shot (or two) of espresso 😉

  4. Elisabeth says:

    How fun is this … ! Thank you so much for sharing – it made me smile! Looking forward to seeing your “finds” too … 🙂

  5. Caitlyn says:

    What a fun day! I love spending quality time with my family!

    I will only try on my new clothes if I have the energy. No energy…no trying on…just sleep 🙂

  6. justmarriedgirl says:

    As much as I love shopping with Mom, I do my best work on my own. I have perfected my method, and it’s better not to inflict my insanity on others (poor baby has no idea what he’s in for). And I don’t try the clothes on again when I get home (unless I’m doubting my choices). Instead, I make a plan for which days I’ll wear the new purchases and with which shoes/ other pieces of my wardrobe. It’s all very OCD!

    Looks like you had a great day! But, you might need a day off from your day off!!! Looking forward to seeing what you got.

  7. sarahnsh says:

    You guys are so cute together, and I can see that you girls shop til’ you drop! My mom and I shop every day that we’re together but we never, ever, pretty much don’t buy a thing when we are out. We kind of go ‘window shopping’ so we’ll go to a ton of places without spending a penny. Unless if it’s a really good bargain. 😉

  8. tknologlvr says:

    Since I’m not that into fashion and tech is my thing, I cannot wait to play. It would be like knowing what you parents bought for Christmas (you snuck peek) and couldn’t open it until Christmas Day!

  9. Sigh. Is it sad that I’m already looking forward to our next shopping trip? 😀

Leave a Reply

