Oh Nuts!

Almond.  Trash it.  Brazil nut. No Good.  Almond.  Too dry.  Walnut.  Eh, it’s okay.  Macadamia nut.  Ugh.  Peanut.  Now we’re talking!

This is what runs through my mind most afternoons lately, as I pick my way through a jar of mixed nuts.  The jar was one of the many treats my parents filled my Christmas stocking with (yes, my parents rock), and boasts 50% less peanuts.  When I read that, my heart sank just a bit. 

I don’t like the fancy, large, extra hard, or extra dry nuts that take up so much room.  (And all the almond lovers gasp).  Give me the peanuts every time.  I can deal with the occasional walnut, but that’s about it.  So every afternoon, during my 3pm snack, I sit in front of my trash can, tossing four nuts away for every one nut I eat.

Love you.  I love you not.

(To my dad who is probably reading this and cringing at the thought of such a waste, I found someone at work who treasures the rejections.  So we have been sharing the jar and thus no more waste).

Anyway, yesterday, as I pushed my way through the nuts in search of my desired peanuts, I thought about how grateful I am that God doesn’t choose us the way I choose my snacks.  (Yes, random thoughts come to me often).  He doesn’t pick and choose, reaching for cookie cutter perfection.  Although, if you ask me, were He to pick and choose in such a way, He’d probably pick the peanuts too.

Because He so often uses the humble.  The downcast.  The ordinary who are so easily over-looked. The peanuts of this mixed-nut world.   And, yeah, I’m grateful for that.

Happy Friday!!  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Oh Nuts!

  1. tknologlvr says:

    Amen, sister!

  2. jelillie says:

    As one of the mixed nuts not a peanut I would most surely be thrown away were it not for His grace and mercy. Thanks for the encouraging thought.

  3. I love this! What a beautiful analogy. 🙂

  4. livvy30 says:

    I always go for the cashews!

  5. Hayley says:

    I’m more of a seed person than a nut person in general…but I used to love peanut butter before I sadly had to give up that inflammatory nuttiness and all the chaos it caused in my body. Oh how I miss peanuts!

  6. sarahnsh says:

    Mmmm, I’ve learned to love me some peanuts. If it isn’t a peanut, I am so not eating that nut. I’m not a fan of other ones, just the peanut, simple, tasty, easy to crack/eat, and it makes my favorite thing… peanut butter!

Leave a Reply

