Seven Years is a Long Time to Wait

My February 2011 may as well be dubbed ‘Stop-Being-A-Baby-And-Grow-Up-Already-Month’.  Because I finally stopped basking in the knowledge that as an adult, no one could force me to go for routine health exams.  I took it upon myself to put my health first, even if it meant doctor’s offices and needles.  **shudder**  I finally went for my routine blood work,  and — now that it’s over — I can honestly say it wasn’t that bad.  I didn’t faint in the process, even if I did have to fast and therefore craved every morsel of food in the house.  ( I Just Want Some Food, Please!). 

The results are in from that, and I have been given a clean bill of health.  The doctor even wrote a personal note on my results, stating, “Your cholesterol is great!  Keep exercising and eating healthy!”  I honestly hadn’t been worried about my glucose and cholesterol levels, as I’m in my twenties and eat a — generally speaking — healthy diet.  🙂   But then, there was the matter of going to the dentist…

I hadn’t been to the dentist for seven years. Yes, you read that right. Seven.  Ugh, how embarrassing. 

See, I went away for college, so I never made it to the dentist for those four years.  By the time I got back, my dentist had thrown out all my records (apparently they can do that if you stop going regularly), so I figured that I should probably look elsewhere for a dental cleaning.  But then I didn’t have dental insurance for a year.  Then I got the job I have now, and I did have the insurance but I just kept putting it off.  So, yeah, seven years.

Don’t judge. It could have been ten years, right?  😉

To be honest, I was freaked out at what the results would be.  To prepare for my next blog post, I wrote a list of all the torture words I could find.  I wasn’t even going to try to find the humor in the situation.  When they told me that all my teeth had to be yanked, I was going to write a blog post with all the emotional turmoil I could muster. 

It’s not that I’ve had toothaches or have noticed gaping  holes in my teeth lately.  No holes, actually.  It’s just that cavities tend to run in my family.  My sister is the queen of oral hygiene, yet she had her share of visits to the dentist last summer to get fillings.  And to be honest, I could be better at flossing.  So I came up with a random number.  Sixteen.  Sixteen cavities is what I expected.  That way, if I was told that I had fifteen cavities, it would be an improvement.  (Yet another look into the strange workings of my mind).

But then something happened. The visit to the dentist was actually pleasant.  The girl who cleaned my teeth was my age, so we chatted and laughed through the whole visit.  (Well, she chatted. I just focused on keeping my mouth open and not swallowing the instruments stuck in my mouth).  And the dentist nearly keeled over in shock after he raved about how good my teeth looked… only to be told that I hadn’t gone to the dentist in seven years.*

No cavities!!

By the way, dentists have come a long way in seven years.  The last I remember, they had to print out the x-rays and snap them onto a light-board. Not anymore.  It’s all digital.  Impressive, right?

So, yeah, February was a huge step in the right direction for me.   I even made a six month appointment for my next dentist check-up.  I hope it results in such a boring blog post as well.  Sixteen cavities may have made for more drama.  But when it comes to a blog post concerning my teeth, I’ll deal with just writing about the ordinary.

Do you go to the dentist regularly? 

*Note:  This author does not promote waiting seven years in between dentist visits, just because her visit turned out well.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Seven Years is a Long Time to Wait

  1. I’m jealous. Totally, 100%, insanely jealous. My teeth drive me nuts with cavities, no matter how well I take care of them!

  2. dottylizzy says:

    Hmmm, it’s been at least 3 or 4 years since I last went to the dentist … and I know that my teeth aren’t that good … ooops … Poor you having to have blood tests for a routine health check! My body always puts up a valiant fight at the suggestion of giving away any of it’s precious blood, to the point that on one memorable occasion it took 2 drs, 3 holes and 2 vials to get “just enough” blood for the test – yup, I’m with you on not liking blood tests!! 🙂

  3. Wow–no cavities…congrats!
    I am a fanatic about going to the dentist–I go every six months like clockwork. I’ve had only one baby cavity when I was 16 (which I think wasn’t even a cavity but an excuse to bill the insurance company based upon stories I heard later from other patients –but that’s a tale for another day) I cried in the chair when I had that cavity–because by 16 I thought I’d be able to get thru my whole life with no cavities. Well, luckily none since then….though I am a very poor flosser!

  4. Whew! I feel better now. I have not been to the dentist in about 5 years..although I am going in sometime this summer. Good for you having no cavities! I’m kind of worried about my own teeth…

  5. LKD says:

    Glad you went! I have a love/hate relationship with dentists, as a result of five years of braces! You may or may not want to look at my post entitled ‘The Dentist’ which includes some light relief from Bill Cosby. 🙂

  6. tknologlvr says:

    Yes, our whole family visits the dentist bi-annually. I am glad you checked out fine, though!

  7. Carin says:

    ugh i don’t have dental insurance til i start working in july, but at least it’s only been like 3 years.

  8. Oh gracious! 7 years? That’s a long time! Though I guess I can’t say anything because Christopher didn’t go to the dentist at all for the four years he was in college. It wasn’t until after we got married that I made him go to a cleaning. I’ve always gone once a year for as long as I can remember. Except this past year. We switched insurance and I haven’t found a new dentist yet. We made an appointment at one, arrived at it, then promptly turned around and left (long story short: it was not the most sterile establishment). Anyway, I’d forgotten about it until just now. Looks like I need to start searching for a dentist again… it’s been almost a year and a half since I last went at this point…

  9. sarahnsh says:

    I used to go to the dentist on routine, but now I don’t have dental insurance so it’s almost 2-3 years or more since the last time I got it done. I just am worried what they’ll find and I know I gotta get it done… just eventually I’ll get to it.

  10. dianacheung says:

    i freaking hate the dentist…but I try to go in 2x a year for my free cleanings!

Leave a Reply

