Sunday Fixin’s: Chicken and Broccoli Stir-fry

One of my favorite meals growing up was my mom’s Chicken Broccoli Stir-fry.  Served over rice, it was unbelievably full of flavor, perfectly suited for company, yet also easy enough for a week-night dinner.  Leftovers make a great lunch for the next day.  And unlike Chinese food, it won’t leave you feeling heavy.  Hearty yet healthy, I think there’s a good chance that your whole family will love it. 

My family definitely did! 

Chicken and Broccoli Stir-fry

1 lb chicken breast strips

2 Tablespoons oil

4 cups veggies (broccoli, green and red peppers) 

1/2 cup chopped water chestnuts

1 1/2 cups chicken broth

3 tablespoons soy sauce

2 tablespoons cornstarch

2 teaspoons brown sugar

1 teaspoon garlic powder

3/4 teaspoon ground ginger

Cooked rice

1.  Stir-fry chicken in hot oil in large skillet, until browned.  Add broccoli, pepper, and water chestnuts; fry until crisp-tender.

2.  Mix broth, soy sauce, cornstarch, sugar, garlic powder, and ginger; add to skillet.  Bring to a boil.  Boil one minute or until thickened.

3.  Meanwhile, prepare rice as directed on package. Serve chicken and veggies over rice.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sunday Fixin’s: Chicken and Broccoli Stir-fry

  1. Mmm…love this recipe! It’s so perfect for winter. 😀

  2. Krista says:

    Mmm, I think I’m bookmarking this one to save to my recipe file! Hey, quick question…did you copy out all your mom’s recipes before you moved out or…I guess my question is, how did you get all your mom’s recipes? Did you hand-copy them? Photo-copy them? Compile them into a binder? I’m trying to figure out the easiest way to get all my family’s recipes for when we’re married and that project is just DAUNTING with everything else on my plate at the moment. 😉

  3. Caitlyn says:

    Broccoli in stir fry is my favorite! Add stir fry flavoring and it’s even better 🙂

  4. Lois says:

    I made this for supper tonight (after a stir-fry attempt last week that did not work!) and it was excellent!!!!! My husband loved it! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

