Sick Day

I usually pride myself with how tough I am in moments of pain or sickness.  I rarely call out of work sick, and the bronchitis I had over Christmas barely pulled a complaint out of my lips.  (I say barely.  I may have grumbled a little bit here and there).  😉

But this bout with the flu?  I’m in misery, and my poor husband is very much aware of it.

Yesterday afternoon, after going for a drive with my sister, I came home exhausted and had a slight headache.  I lay on the floor to play and tease my two kitties.  Nate came downstairs and I had fallen asleep.  It was just about 4pm.

Then the chills hit…  Then the fever…  The severe headache.  The nausea. 

I woke up at midnight and felt so sick, I wanted to cry.  So I crawled out of bed, shuffled over to the bathroom, and took my temperature again.  101.4 degrees.  Ugh!  So I did the practical thing. I crawled back into bed, poked the husband awake, and told him that I was so sick.  Misery loves company, I suppose.

And so, today I called out of work.  I shall be spending the day in bed and enjoying a diet of gingerale and crackers. 

How many of you have a long weekend because of President’s Day?  Doing anything fun?  If you’re working, hope you have a good Monday!  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sick Day

  1. Oh girl, I hope you’re feeling better! I hate the flu. I hate fevers. I hate being sick!

    Hope you have a good day off, leaving you feeling 10x better!

  2. vixter2010 says:

    Aw no, poor you! Have a good rest, drink lots of water and put on a girlie film. Hope you feel better soon 🙂

  3. sarahnsh says:

    I hope you get to feeling better too, the flu is the only thing that could get me to call in for work. Especially if I am sick and throwing up, I just can’t make that work to go in to work. Take it easy and feel better!

  4. tknologlvr says:

    Feel better soon! Hate you are sick.

  5. Feel better soon!! I am stuck at work..but that sure beats being so sick 😦

  6. Krista says:

    Aw, I’m sorry you’re sick! 😦 Feel better fast, okay?

  7. livvy30 says:

    Feel better soon! I’m just back from the doctor with a chronic sinus infection, so I can sympathise!

  8. Oh girl! I hope you feel better soon!

  9. Aw, no fun 😦 I’d share some of this slow cooker turkey noodle soup I’m making today with you if I could. Hope you get to feeling better soon!

  10. Leona Briggs says:

    Two weeks ago I was where you are! You have my complete sympathy!

  11. justmarriedgirl says:

    The flu is just the worst! Hope you’re feeling much better!!

  12. maggiemaes30 says:

    Hope you get to feeling better soon! Sending get well wishes your way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

