Good Help is Hard to Find

With our tax return money, Nate and I bought a new TV.  And with this television came an emergency.  We had the wrong sized HD cable.  **gasp**

By this point in the evening, Nate was up to his elbows in dust, cables, and untouched direction booklets; so off I went to Walmart to find him a 12-foot HD cable.  It’s not that I understand electronics, television stuff, or HD.  But I’ve found that if you’re a girl and you look really confused in the electronic’s section, a guy is sure to take pity on you and ask if you need help.  (This is also my method when it comes to needing a flat tire changed.  So far, it has worked twice for me).

Anyway, I perused the aisles of Walmart and came across the HD cables, which looked just like any of the other cables in stock there.  I suddenly kicked myself, however, for not having my cell phone.  Because there were several brands, and I wasn’t sure if there was a particular one I should pick.  They all looked the same. All had similar, flat ends to them.  But what if I was missing something important and came back home with the wrong cable?  I’d be sent back to Walmart, and there was no way that I was going to let that happen!

So I marched over to the electronic’s station where a young guy was helping a customer.  Unfortunately for me, the customer was a young woman who apparently had set her flirtatious sights on this promising Walmart employee.  They were reviewing her phone plan, or so it would seem were you to listen to their conversation.  But I don’t think you could get that excited or interested about a phone plan.  And she sure leaned over a lot to show off her assets, if you know what I mean.  No lie, I stood there in line behind her for seven minutes straight.  For the first three minutes, I genuinely had a question.  For the last four, I had wasted too much time in line already to just walk away now.  So I waited, and waited, and waited.

Finally!  Finally she giggled her last giggle, gave him a ‘cute’ little wave, and walked away from the station. 

I walked up to the front of the desk, quickly giving myself a pep talk. This guy likes to flirt with young woman.  Don’t be overly friendly or he’ll think you’re flirting back.  He also likes to try impressing girls with his knowledge of electronic stuff, so try to keep it short and quick… or else you could be here all night.   And Nate needs the cable ASAP. 

“Hi,” I said with a smile.

Maybe he didn’t hear me?  He’s just looking at some paperwork.

Cough, cough.  Smiling.  “I actually just have a quick question,” I said.  “I was wondering if you know anything about HD cables?”

The guy flipped  his hand to point in the general direction behind me.  Still looking at the paperwork (probably trying to find the girl’s number).  “They’re under the sign that says HD cables.”

I give a nervous laugh.  (The nervous laugh was for his sake, because I wanted to throw something at him.  But I’m a good Christmas girl.  So I found the strength to refrain). 

 “Hmmm, I know, I found them.”  I’m still smiling.  “I just don’t know what the difference is between them.”

“Just buy the cheapest one,” he said.

I think my mouth dropped before I could catch it. 

Apparently, this employee had specific standards when it came to who he offered assistance to.  So I did what any intelligent woman would have done under such circumstances.  I bought the cable that was two dollars more expensive than the cheapest one.

 HAH!  I showed him!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Good Help is Hard to Find

  1. Ohhh … I have SO experienced that sort of situation. NOT my favourite! So sorry you had to deal with that attitude!

    And … did you get the right kind of cable?!?

  2. Hope that it ended up to be the right cable! What a jerk!

  3. Oh my goodness, what a pain! I’m sorry you had to deal with all of that. Hopefully you got the right cable and you guys can enjoy your TV! 🙂

  4. Haha…I have so been there in your shoes, too! That guy sounds like such a major pain.

  5. Tien says:

    That guy is so rude! Such double standards he was showing, tsk tsk! Did you get the right cable though….?

  6. leonabriggs says:

    Good service is hard to come by!

Leave a Reply

