Franky: The Plucked Chicken

I’ve been happily cooking for my husband just over two years now.  And my adventures in the kitchen began even before then, thanks to a mother who forced me encouraged me to learn how to cook.  So I guess you could say that I entered womanhood well-prepared to feed a hungry man… and maybe even picky children, should we take that step in the upcoming years. 

But there comes a time when a woman must face her worst fears in the kitchen.  When she must stop being satisfied with the status quo and take a leap of faith.  When she has to just trust her training and accept the possibility of failure in the hope of being successful.

And for me, this revolved around baking a whole chicken.

Whole chickens scare me.  They hold an endless possibility of flops.  They can be too dry.  Undercooked.  Tasteless.  Tough.  Too salty.  Not salty enough.  I was pretty sure that were I to attempt such a feat, it would be me against the chicken…  And the chicken would win.

And so, over the weekend, I decided to conquer my fears, and a whole chicken found its way into my kitchen for the first time.  I rinsed him off with cold water, patted him dry, and then proceeded to call him Franky.  My husband seemed a little bit apprehensive when I admitted to having named our dinner-meat.  I couldn’t help it.  All this time, I had thought the chicken was my enemy, when he was actually kind of cute… for something so plucked, anyway.

To avoid a dry chicken, I decided to go the crockpot route and turned to an Emeril recipe I had found on the Foodnetwork.  Just rub the chicken down with salt and pepper.  Place the whole chicken in a 4 1/2 – 5 quart crockpot and top with 1/2 cup of chopped onions, 1/4 cup chopped carrots, the juice of one squeezed lemon, some fresh thyme, and three crushed garlic. (I didn’t have fresh thyme, so I rubbed him down with dried thyme, in addition to the salt and pepper).  Cook on high for 6 hours, undisturbed. 

 (I love that ‘undisturbed’ part, becaused it means that the crockpot is doing all the work). 😉  Yep, that’s it. You don’t even have to add any water to the pot, and it still comes out amazingly tender and juicy!

So over the weekend, I conquered one of my kitchen fears, as irrational as it may seem.  And let me tell you, it was tasty.  🙂  Maybe next time, I’ll try baking one in the oven.  **shudder**

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Franky: The Plucked Chicken

  1. tknologlvr says:

    You can try basting bags for the oven venture!

  2. Tien says:

    It’s very cute that you named him Franky! Congrats for conquering the fear cooking a whole chicken 🙂

  3. leonabriggs says:

    Looks yummy! I have also separated the skin and meat and stuck pats of butter between the two to keep it moist. Garlic butter is even better! 🙂

  4. Franky is one handsome looking chicken…haha. I’m glad to hear you overcame your fears and made a delicious chicken. Come to think of it, I’ve never cooked an entire chicken either. I think this needs to be added to my “life’s to do list”. 😉

  5. sarahnsh says:

    Franky looks delicious, I’d eat him! You are much braver than me, I can’t even cook mac and cheese without screwing it up.

  6. Congrats!! I’ve had the same fear of cooking a whole chicken. I hadn’t thought about using the crockpot, though, great idea!

Leave a Reply

