Is it Spring Yet?

A beautiful invitation came in the mail the other day for my cousin’s upcoming wedding.  It reminded me of tulips, freshly cut grass, and sunshine.  In other words… Spring!  🙂

I’ve pretty much convinced myself that spring is just around the corner, so almost every morning, when I step outside into temperatures of 3 degrees Farenheit, it’s like cold shock all over again.  We’re in March.  Spring does arrive this month.  Shouldn’t the temperatures be warming up a little?

Instead, it feels pretty much like another winter day.  In fact, the plows were out the other day, trying to widen the streets which have been narrowed by all the snow.  We now have a 15-20 foot snow mountain at the end of our street.  A dirty, brown snow mountain.  Not cool.

I have spring fever like there’s no tomorrow.  I want to feel the warm sunshine on my skin.  Want to invest in some fun colors for my toes and show them off by wearing a new pair of flipflops.  Want to run outside without bundling up in a coat and gloves.  Want to feel the grass on my bare feet, want to go for a bikeride, want to plant some flowers.  It’s not that I’m too demanding.  It’s just that I want spring so desperately.  🙂

I’m at this point in the winter where I want to hibernate for the remainder of the cold days. I want to stay home, snuggle up on the couch, and watch a good movie.  So I decided to fight these urges and have planned a fun, girl’s weekend.  Tonight, I’m going out to dinner with my college friend Wendy.  Tomorrow, I’m going shopping with my church friend Liz (she has to find an outfit for her upcoming anniversary).  And then Sunday, I’m baking the hubby a comfort-food dinner… and then we’ll snuggle on the couch and watch a movie.  Because it still is winter, after all.  We might as well do a bit of hibernating while we can. 

How are you handling these last few weeks of winter?  And any fun plans for the weekend?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Is it Spring Yet?

  1. vixter2010 says:

    I am with you on this, hurry up warm weather please! I think some shopping and curling up with a film may form part of my plans too and I’m thinking a curry mmmm Have a good one 🙂

  2. I am so ready for spring, it’s ridiculous! It will be nice going out for a run and not feeling like my face has just been botoxed. 😉

    Tomorrow I plan on going skating with dad. Sunday I have a 5k that I’m required to go to for my internship. And tonight? Tonight I plan on unwinding with a bubble bath and a cup of tea. I. Can. Not. Wait. 😀

  3. Sleep, sleep, sleep…that’s my plan for the weekend…if not the rest of Winter!

  4. justmarriedgirl says:

    We had one very warm day a couple of weeks ago, and it ruined me for winter. Now, I am just assuming that it’s going to be warm “any day now,” but alas, we still have a little cold ahead of us.

    I cannot wait for spring, but I’m also not wanting to rush this pregnancy along. Too much to do! Too much mental preparation!!

    Happy Friday!!!

  5. leonabriggs says:

    How am I spending the last few weeks of winter? Spending time with my grandchildren! They always bring the sunshine!

  6. Megan says:

    Hurry up spring!!! It’s a balmy 54 degress here today with rain on the way, but I’m taking the “warmth” anyway! Spending the last few weeks of winter preparing for the craft show I am doing on April 9th… TONS to do. Starting to bug out about how much there is to do and how little time 🙂

Leave a Reply

