Cooking up Something New

As much as I adore cooking, I rarely stray from the traditional French or American way of doing things.  The basics.  I’ve got kneading, shredding, and whisking down pat.  And my kitchen is stocked with the familiar  items that you’d find in pretty much every home in the area.  Eggs.  Flour.  Salt.  Cheese.  Milk.  If it’s not in my kitchen, then that’s because I ran out, and I’m probably planning a run to my mom’s house to borrow a teaspoon or two.  😉

Honestly, if I see a recipe that lists something foreign, I kind of skip over it and instantly forget about how delicious it sounded.  And I use the word ‘foreign’ rather loosely here.  I’ve never been an experimental cook.  I’ve never, ever held a leak, never mind cooked with one.  I’ve cooked with tofu once… years and years ago.  I stick to the popular cheeses, such as cheddar and parmesan; and I’ve definitely snubbed eggplant, just because it was the color of the shirt I was wearing. 

I bake Italian bread and blueberry muffins.  Serve corn chowders and chicken stew.  The utensils I use are probably all included in a five-year-old’s cooking play set.  It’s not that I don’t own a few fancy contraptions.  I actually have a very nice food processor.  It’s just never seen the light of day and has been carefully stored away since I obtained it several years ago at my bridal shower.  I’m just a little frightened of it and all the blades I’m supposed to assemble.  So I chop, grate, and shred everything by hand.  (Yeah, I need to change that).

Anyway, when I was sick with the flu, I spent the majority of my time glued to the Food network.  There were amazing meals galore, but the one recipe that stuck out the most was Giada’s Rosemary and Sweet Potato soup.  It looked so creamy.  So comforting.  So absolutely perfect. 

So out of my comfort zone… 

First of all, she easily pureed the soup with her immersion blender, which is a cooking contraption that I didn’t really know existed.  Maybe somewhere in the back of my mind I knew about them, but I’d definitely never given them more than a second of thought.  Secondly, she used mascarpone cheese.  Mascarpone what?  It definitely wasn’t cheddar…

Last but not least, the recipe called for shallots.  Please don’t laugh, but I had no idea what a shallot was.  I expected them to look like scallions, but they actually look like stubby onions.  They also make one’s eyes water like onions would. Not that I’m speaking from experience now. Just sayin’. 

But I decided, right then and there, that I was going to make this recipe, even if it killed me. 

So over this past weekend, I bought myself a new cooking toy.  An immersion blender.

It’s quite the tool.  Mine comes with a whisk so I can make whipped cream without burning a single calorie.  It also comes with an attachment that chops and grates food.  It’s like a mini food processor without the scary.  (Baby steps, people.  Baby steps).

I also bought that mascarpone cheese, which is — apparently — often used in desserts.  Desserts such as tiramisu.  Don’t think for a second that it’s sweet though. It tastes like a flavorless cream cheese.  Or maybe even a little bit like a cheese you would put in lasagna (just not sure if it tasted more like cottage cheese or ricatta).  How’s that for being a descriptive chef?  😉

Much to my surprise, trying something new in the kitchen was actually quite exhilarating.  Sure, I may have got over-excited and turned the blender on too high when it wasn’t immersed enough.  So, yes, I may have got some  hot soup splattered onto my face.  (No burns, thank goodness).  But it was FUN!  AND delicious!  Let’s just say that I know which recipe will be featured in this Sunday’s blog segment.  Soooo yummy!  Definitely worth buying the immersion blender and the unfamiliar cheese.  🙂  (Although if you don’t have an immersion blender, you can put small batches of soup in your regular blender and puree it that way). 

Are you a brave cook, trying new ‘contraptions’ and foods?  Or do you stick to the familiar?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cooking up Something New

  1. jelillie says:

    I can’t wait for the recipe! I love rosemary. I don’t grow it (too much of a pain to keep alive). But I do buy it in bottles. Got any recipes using cumin? I am trying my hand at that this summer.

  2. In the past year I’ve expanded my horizons more on experimenting with ingredients I haven’t heard of before. But even still I tend to stick to Italian (surprise surprise, haha), Chinese, American and Mexican. If it doesn’t fit into one of those categories then I’m not likely to make it very often, haha!

  3. livvy30 says:

    I can’t wait for that recipe!

  4. Tien says:

    My flatmate has one of those, but I can’t really figure how to use it. I am afraid of splatters so I stuck to the traditional blender. I love trying new things even if it means scouting for ingredients almost unheard of! The soup sounds yum! Can’t wait for your post this Sunday 🙂

  5. Megan says:

    I stick with the familiar! Like last night when I made a baked potato instead 3 other meals I had planned for the week… I’ll get to them eventually! Yay for you though having success with your new tool and the recipe 🙂

  6. Katie says:

    I’m in love with my immersion blender – it’s so EASY to use and clean. It’s my “lazy tool” and I use it often. 🙂

  7. Sheila says:

    I love trying new recipes !!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

