Bubbles, Bubbles, Bubbles

After a long day at work,  a jog through the neighborhood, or even a struggle with an explosive bag of flour, nothing helps me unwind quite like a bubble bath.  It’s a mini-vacation to the spa without the traveling or cost.  Worries and cares float away in lavender-scented bubbles.  The only thing on my mind is warmth, quiet, and relaxation.  Oh, and maybe chocolate. 

It’s a me-time tradition that I have coveted for years.  And I have to admit that I was a little spoiled when I lived at home.  Bubble baths at my parent’s house were amazing.  Two words.  Jetted tub… 

My new house?  Let’s just say that there’s a small situation with the size of our hot water tank.  There’s enough hot water for two showers and that’s it.  Well, that is unless you want to take a bath and you’re the size of a goldfish. 

I’ve tried to be practical about this situation for the past year, realizing that a larger hot water tank really isn’t top priority.  There are bills to pay off and necessary repairs, such as our poor mailbox which didn’t survive the long winter.  And Nate says that there’s a chance that the man who comes to clean our heater might even know of a quick, inexpensive fix. 

But I have no idea when Mr. Heater Man is going to come next, and — frankly — it’s been way too long since I made use of my bubble bath collection.  It was a cold winter.  Work has been hectic.  The gym workout the other night left me feeling sore.  I needed a relaxing bath tonight and that was all there was to it. So I was considering the possibility of taking the long, two-mile drive to my parent’s house (grin) to take the much-needed bubble bath, when I saw it… 

The pot.

This is not just any-ol’ pot.  It’s from the All-Clad series.  My dad bought it for me before I was even dating, knowing full well that I probably wouldn’t buy from such a nice collection later on.

It’s the perfect pot for cooking corn on the cob or even lobster.  (Right now, Nate and I use it for corn… and dream of the day that we’re rich enough to afford lobster or lobster becomes cheaper).  😉  It’s sturdy.  Super tall.  High-quality.  And when Nate and I were engaged, I reminded him often that his girl came prepared to cook.  Yes, I had the beginnings of my very own collection of cookware, and I hadn’t even had a bridal shower yet.  It was like a bridal dowry or something.  What can I say?  Nate is a lucky guy.

  Anyway, tonight I had this major brainstorm, and soon had two pots of water boiling on the stove.  It was like Little House on the Prairie come to life…without the open flames of a campfire. There I was, boiling water, then scurrying up a flight of stairs to pour it into a tub filled with lukewarm water.  For the record, this amazing pot is quite heavy when it’s filled with boiling water. 

 But the arm work-out was so worth it. It totally worked!!!!   That pot held enough boiling water to bring the tub water to a really hot temperature. 

I’m talking about a hot, bubbly bath in my very own home!  Awww, sometimes, I love technology.  I shall have to remember to send All-clad a complimentary letter in which I thank them for producing such a fine product.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bubbles, Bubbles, Bubbles

  1. vixter2010 says:

    I love relaxing in a bath, I usually spend Subday morning in one 🙂 I’m glad you found a solution, there’s nothing like a bubble bath to soothe!

  2. Haha! I’m glad you were able to concoct a solution! I remember doing this when we ran out of heat and we needed to take showers/baths. Only we had 4-5 separate pots instead of one nice large one.

    Wow. That sounds so old school! 😀

  3. Megan says:

    I drew a hot bath for myself several weeks ago after not having done so for many years… it was just what I needed amidst all the stress & chaos. Yay! For you working it out & getting your bubble bath! Hope you enjoyed 🙂

  4. allieksmith says:

    This is awesome! I love how you improvised 🙂 That is genius girl!

  5. Homestead Ramblings says:

    Are you able to turn up the temperature on your water heater to a higher setting? There is usually a control device on it.

  6. sarahnsh says:

    Oh my goodness, you are so funny! I would have never thought of that personally, but I’m glad it worked for you! I swear, if you love baths you should check out Lush products, like bath bombs, bubble bars, they are so much fun. The last one I used in my bath turned the water blue, which was pretty cool. I love a hot bath after a long day of work, it’s perfect!

  7. What a great solution…I haven’t taken a bath since I was a teen…but recently moved into a home with a jetted tub. I promise myself that I’ll take that baby for a spin soon!

  8. This is fabulous! When we lived overseas, we would do this in order to wash our hair since we didn’t have hot water. Ah good stuff! 🙂

  9. Carin says:

    i’m jealous of your pot. i have one nice cooking piece: my le creuset dutch oven my mom got me. i use it for everything that i can!

  10. Tien says:

    Good on you Nicole! When I was a kid, that’s what my mom did when I needed to take a hot water bath. Because most asian homes dont have hot water tanks. She boils water and mix them with cold water in a bucket and scoops it with a container to pour over my then tiny body.

Leave a Reply

