St. Patrick’s Day Smiles

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

So I’m not Irish, nor do I decorate my house in all possible shades of green for this holiday.  It’s always been low-key for my family, but we did ‘celebrate’ a bit, just to get into the festivities.  You know, the basics.  Wearing green (and pinching anyone who wasn’t).  Eating a boiled dinner and then serving some kind of green dessert.  Wishing everyone else a Happy St. Patrick’s Day.  After all, I’ve never needed much of an excuse to eat good food and celebrate.  😉

This year, I’m a bit stuck.  Apparently, green is not a popular color in my wardrobe and I have exactly one green sweater… which I wore yesterday.  Why I would wear my one green sweater the day before St. Patrick’s Day, I’ll never know. 

Unless my hunch is correct…  All of the stores are selling green everything, and you can’t go very far online without being reminded of the green-themed holiday.  So maybe all of this green publicity made me subconsciously reach for green.  It’s like I couldn’t help it or something.  And I don’t think I was the only one…  I kid you not, absolutely everyone was wearing green yesterday.  The woman I sit next to at work was wearing an identical sweater, so we were twins for the day.  There was a board meeting, and I’d say that half the crowd was wearing some shade of green.  Then I showed up to church that night, and my husband (the worship leader) was wearing green… as was my pastor. (Apparently they did get the memo).

It’s  like we all either thought St. Patrick’s Day was yesterday… or we subconsciously grabbed for green, because of all the green colors displayed around us.

It got me to thinking…  Our attitudes are a lot like holiday decorations.  Whether it’s St. Patrick’s Day influencing us to go green or Easter encouraging us to take out our light pinks, purples, and greens; holidays really influence our wardrobe.  Why not, right?  If you take one step into Walmart, you’re bombarded with the colors of the season, and it’s impossible to ignore.  It’s the same thing with our attitudes.  When we step into the office or into a classroom, our attitude affects and influences the people around us.  It’s up to us if we want to be the shiny rainbow or the dull, black kettle at the end of it. 

A positive attitude and a smile are contagious!  It’s so easy to groan and complain, because — well — everyone else is doing it.  But when we start to focus on the good and laugh about situations instead of whine about them, people take notice.  People want to be around that.  And people will be influenced by that. 

Me?  I’m going to focus on having the best attitude possible today. Not because I’m faking it.  I really am so incredibly blessed, and even if work is stressful and life is hard sometimes, I have so many reasons to smile.  So many reasons to be joyful!  And maybe, just maybe, if I smile enough, people won’t notice that I’m not wearing green.  Pinch!

Are you wearing green today?  Did you at least wear your smile?  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to St. Patrick’s Day Smiles

  1. Megan says:

    Your hit the nail on tbe head! In my post yesterday, I apologized to all for my complaining … sometimes it’s so easy to get caught up in the things that aren’t going well. Then you’re reminded of all you have to be thankful for … I too will be aiming for a happily splendid day! Happy St. Patrick’s Day N! I’m wearing green, so no pinching needed 😉

  2. This was a beautiful reminder to be thankful for all that I have! Especially after the tragedy overseas, there is nothing I should complain about. So in the spirit of positivity, I have my smile on and am prepared to take the pinches (I don’t have green on either)!

  3. livvy30 says:

    Obviously, I’m wearing green today and yesterday too cos we’d a party at school for the students. Anyone not wearing green got pinched-luckily,we’d loads of prizes of hats, scarves etc.. so I think everyone had something green at the end of it. I’ll be celebrating the day in the traditional way- watch a parade, then spend the afternoon in the pub watching horse racing, followed by a take away! happy St patrick’s Day 🙂

  4. vixter2010 says:

    I’m wearing a a blue/green shirt today so that might count 🙂 I love Xmas, makes me want to wear sparkly things!Happy St Patricks Day, enjoy!

  5. Haha! That’s funny that so many people were wearing green yesterday! But at least you are wearing a big smile today. 🙂

  6. Meg says:

    Ohhhh what a good thought about our attitudes.

    I’m home sick today but your question about smiling made me smile. 🙂

  7. jelillie says:

    I never remember to wear green on St. Patrick’s Day. I wish I could be that thoughtful about my wardrobe. I am happy to get out of the house with two of the same shoes on! Now as to the attitude…I am shootin for the gold inside the black pot. God alone can forge that character in me and I am glad He is doing it! Thanks for the post.

  8. What an astute observation!! And yes I am wearing both Green and a Smile today. Happy St Patrick’s Day!!

  9. Toni says:

    Yep! Wore green today, I’m not Irish but I can enjoy the day with the best of them! 🙂

  10. I absolutely wore green (and orange!) today!
    I agree, positivity breeds more positivity. I’m always trying to send out good vibes 🙂

  11. allieksmith says:

    This is SUCH a meaningful post 🙂 I really appreciate/needed that- so thank you! I wore a little bit of green and my smile 😉

Leave a Reply

