Here We Go Again…

Having an extremely snowy winter and my catching every cold and flu that was thrown my way made it nearly impossible for me and Nate to make it to the gym over the past few months.  Yes, it was bad…   But this week, finally clear of coughing, lung issues, and snowstorms, Nate and I started to work out again. 

 Let me tell you, when you haven’t done it in awhile, it’s hard to get back into the rhythm of it.  I know that people always say, “You’ll feel SO great after you’ve worked out, so fight the urge not to.”  Well, that awesome feeling comes after you’ve worked out for awhile. When you first start out, you feel more like fainting.  And gasping for air.  And lying on the ground with a towel over your face. 

It’s an unusual place for me to be in, since I’ve always worked out regularly.  Getting married, moving, knee problems, and then moving again really did a job on my workout schedule over the past two years though and — oftentimes — going for a run just didn’t happen.  This winter didn’t help matters either.  So here I am, starting at the bottom and having to work my way up again.

Now I completely understand why people just don’t do it.  Why people quit.  It’s hard! 

And it’s difficult to accept where you’re at, because you want to be able to run so much further.  I’m starting at a two-mile run; when I used to hit 5 miles without too much of a problem.  At first I felt a little frustrated, but really it just matters that I’m getting out there.  My heart is pumping and I’m working up a sweat.  I’m doing something healthy for my body, and the added miles will come with time. 

You might even want to quit because you just don’t like going to the gym.  I’m focused on toning; but having been away from the gym so long, I can definitely see why it would be an intimidating place.  There was this woman with tight, leapord-print pants who seemed to be following me around the gym last night. I was kind of scared.

But to those of you who want to start getting back into shape, I’m telling you that I know it is difficult. But you can do it!  You can be proud of yourself every step of the way.  And to those of you who have already found your work-out comfort spot, keep it up!  🙂

Well, I’m off to eat a very large bowl of cereal for breakfast.  This working out is giving me the appetite of a teenager, and I’ve got to eat something  healthy before I consume absolutely everything in my kitchen.

Happy Friday!!! 

As always, I have to ask… Any fun plans for the weekend???  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Here We Go Again…

  1. I’m one of those quitter 😦 I really need to try to force myself to go to the gym…I’ve been paying for a membership for two years and have gone about five times:( It’s embarrassing just saying that…

    Anywho…I am having people over all weekend for a late St Patty’s Day celebration! About 11 on Sat and 8 on Sunday…will be a lot of work…but should be fun!!

  2. sarahnsh says:

    You gotta watch out for those spandex wearing leopard skin gym people… I was never a fan of the gym. Way too self conscious, I think I get enough of a workout at my job. 😉 Good job getting back into it for yourself, it is tough!

  3. justmarriedgirl says:

    “When you first start out, you feel more like fainting.  And gasping for air.  And lying on the ground with a towel over your face.”

    This is so true! Per dr.’s orders, I haven’t been able to work out during this pregnancy, and I can’t wait to get back to it! I just dread that adjustment period because it’s so intense!!!

    Good luck with your regimen! Luckily, they say the body has a memory, so you should be back to your old pace and feeling good in no time!

  4. Megan says:

    Good for you Nicole! About 3.5 years ago I faithfully walked/jogged 4-8 miles a day, helping me to lose 40 lbs. For a number of reasons (excuses), I quit.

    It’s so appropriate for me that this was your topic for the day as today was the day I decided to jump back into it. I need to lose that weight again & maintain … it is sooo much easier said than done!

    My weekend will be spent catching up on chores around the house, walking/jogging & making TONS of frames for the craft show! Hope you have a GREAT weekend! 🙂

  5. Good for you! I think we can all relate (well…most of us) to a time when we just felt like quitting. Having scary leopard print wearing women traipsing around at the gym doesn’t help matters much…haha. Although kudos to her for being able to pull that look off. 😉

  6. You are so right! It’s not easy to get back in the swing of things with exercising, but it’s really so worth it!

  7. Tien says:

    So true Nicole! I have been going for Zumba classes since a few months ago and have been consistently doing it 2 times a week. Sure, it’s fun, it gets you sweating and I feel so good after each session! But once you miss one session, it’s just so easy to keep missing classes and give up! Then when you have to restart, it’s just soooooo hard…..!

  8. dianacheung says:

    honestly if I lived up north I would buy a treadmill or an elliptical from a garage sale!

Leave a Reply

