Question and Answer # 2: The Purpose of… Me! (part 2)

In case you missed part 1:  Question and Answer #2:  The Purpose of… Me!  (part 1)

Wow, first I have to say that you all made my day yesterday!  Your comments were amazing and meant so much.  Thank you for that!!  Here I was hoping to brighten your day, when you ended up brightening mine.  🙂 — Nicole

The reason for this two-part answer is that I just felt that I couldn’t answer the question of “What is your purpose” without also going into my purpose of being here in the first place.  I seriously just couldn’t!  🙂  So if this is a little deep for my blog, I thank you for bearing with me over the past two days… and just letting me say what’s on my heart.   Knowing my purpose has made all the difference in the world to me.  Mainly because I feel complete.  Satisfied.  There isn’t this need to find something more or this emptiness that won’t be filled. 

The thing about life is that we humans often get a mixed signal as to what will make us happy.  We often think in terms of wealth and popularity.  Fame.  Fortune.  We think that we haven’t accomplished anything until our faces are plastered across magazines or until we’re sitting on Oprah’s couch.  (Or jumping on the couch, if you’re the likes of Tom Cruise).  But as fun as dancing on Oprah’s couch might be, money and fame can’t buy happiness.  In fact, they’ll leave you feeling as empty as when you first started the journey upward. 

Now again, I’m not saying that we shouldn’t excel at what we do. That we shouldn’t dream big… because you all know that I do!  🙂  And there’s nothing wrong with moving upward in your career or even enjoying the blessings that come with that.In fact, if God gave you a talent, I say run with it and do your absolute best to excel in it!!   I’m just saying that if that’s our ultimate goal, we still will feel empty. 

So why did God plant humans on this beautiful planet?  Think about it… He created oceans with powerful waves and clouds that turn brilliant shades of pinks, reds, and purples.  Think of wild horses running across a grassy plain, their manes catching the wind as they toss back their heads.  Imagine soaring eagles, towering mountains, and valleys covered by a a fine mist.  Picture the tiniest of violets with its delicate petals and then move on to the towering redwood, a giant in the forest.

These, and so much more, point to a perfect Creator.  The gurgling brooks, and dancing leaves, and chirping chicadees all seem to sing out with joy to the very heavens.  But God wanted more.  He wanted that joyful song to come from someone created in His very image.  From someone who actually could sing out praise and worship Him.  And so He created the first man and woman. 

That’s it. That’s why I’m here.  I have a soul, the ability to believe in my Creator and to thank Him every time I see something beautiful that takes my breath away.  It’s all about giving God praise.  I was created, because I have a voice.  I can look up to the heavens and say, “Wow, God, you’re amazing.”  And just realizing that should I lose absolutely everything, I could never lose the relationship I have with Him… well, it has made me joyful even in those hard moments. Those tough moments when everything on earth wasn’t exactly going my way.  Because I happen to know that heaven is perfect… And no disaster or sickness is going to touch me once I’m up there!  🙂 

Of course, I could go on all day about how our purpose has deepened, because the first man and woman sinned… So now there’s disease and disaster in the world that God had created to be perfect.  So while I’m still praising, there are a lot of hurting people out there who need rescue.

But that’s for another time and another day.  (Unless any of you want to email me with questions / thoughts and we can get into more detail via emailing).  But today, I’m keeping it simple here at Loving Simple Moments.

  So my purpose?   It’ to praise the One who created me and the entire universe, to give Him the thanks He deserves, to love those around me as He would love them, and to live out the life He gave me with as much joy and gusto I can muster up!  🙂

The End!  🙂  (Great question, Tien!).

Happy Friday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Question and Answer # 2: The Purpose of… Me! (part 2)

  1. Homestead Ramblings says:

    Again excellent, and you saved the best part for last. 🙂 Be blessed dear girl, be blessed.

  2. Nicole, this is such a beautifully written post. You really put our purpose into the right words. Thanks for sharing this and I really couldn’t agree more!

  3. jelillie says:

    And that Nicole is why I have made a life out of creating a culture of worship around me. I LOVED THESE POSTS!!!

  4. Wow. I have no idea how you manage to put these kinds of things into words the way you do. So beautiful. So true.

    I think there should be more Q&A times. 😀

  5. Tien says:

    Simply beautiful Nicole, loved it! Sorry for making you think so much though…..hehe 😉
    Have a fabulous weekend ahead!

  6. Megan says:

    Yet another fabulously uplifting post Nicole 🙂 Stop by my blog chica… Passed on the Versatile Blogger Award!

Leave a Reply

