Sunday Fixin’s: Oven-Fried Fish

As healthy as I try to eat on a regular basis, I’m not ashamed to admit that I splurge.  That I order sweet potato fries when I eat out.  That I do enjoy Chinese food about twice a year.  And that I love — LOVE — fried seafood! 

When I was a kid, one of my favorite meals was fish sticks.  Now that I’m an adult, I tend to go for the more expensive fair sold at restaurants or beachside stands.  And since I live in New England, there is no shortage of fresh, fried seafood during the summer months.  Hmmm, I can taste it now.  The haddock…  Deep fried.  Flaky.  Hot but smothered in cold tartar sauce.  Oh, be still my heart!

So imagine my delight when I found this recipe for oven-fried fish!  The fish comes out perfectly flaky, with that crispy coating that I adore so much.  And the secret ingredient to this entrée is dill!  It’s like the tarter sauce was baked right into the fish, so the flavor  is all there.  No need to pack on that extra fat and calories if you’re trying to eat a healthy meal. 

 I think that both my fish-stick loving child self and fried seafood-loving adult self would agree that this recipe is a keeper!  🙂

 

Oven-Fried Fish

adapted from Betty Crocker.com

1 lb haddock or cod

1/4 cup cornmeal

1/4 cup dry bread crumbs (I used Italian seasoned)

3/4 teaspoon chopped fresh or 1/4 teaspoon dried dill

1/2 teaspoon paprika

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon pepper

1/4 cup milk

2 tablespoons margarine, melted

1.  Move oven rack to position slightly above middle of oven.  Heat oven to 500 degrees F.

2.  Cut fish into 2×1 1/2-inch pieces.  In shallow dish, mix cornmeal, bread crumbs, dill weed, paprika, salt, and pepper.  Place milk in another shallow dish.  Dip fish into milk, then coat with cornmeal mixture.

3.  Place fish in ungreased 13×9-inch pan.  Drizzle melted margarine over fish.  Bake uncovered about 10 minutes or until fish flakes easily with fork.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sunday Fixin’s: Oven-Fried Fish

  1. Megan says:

    Mmmmmmmmm! Looks and sounds delicious Nicole! Think I may just have to try this out 😀 Definitely love a good fried fish, but a healthy alternative is just what I’ve been looking for!

  2. This sounds fabulous!

    Strangely enough, I’m not a big fried food person. BUT, I do *love* fried fish with tartar sauce! So, so, so delicious. I have to try this. 😀

  3. Oh wow, that looks so yummy!!

  4. allieksmith says:

    What a great recipe!!! YUUUM 🙂

  5. Tien says:

    I am a BIG fan of fish too! Add in baked and crispy, you can have me do anything for a bite LOL! Thanks for sharing Nicole, will definitely bookmark this and try it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

