Sunday Fixin’s: Lemon-Blueberry Oat Muffins

  Muffins.  They’ve become a bit of a Sunday morning tradition for me.  A few months ago, I began to wake up a little earlier on Sunday mornings before church so that I could bake a batch.  I’d keep a few out for any guests who might pop in, but the rest would end up in the freezer for my husband to take out as needed during the week.  But while I claim to wake up a bit earlier than necessary, just so my hubby can have his muffins during the week, I have to admit that I’m also doing this out of selfish reasons. 

I like muffins too.

And although I stick to my cereal and oatmeal for during-the-week breakfasts, I love sitting down to a muffin and a glass of orange juice on Sunday mornings.  It just feels special.  A tad bit indulgent.  And it doesn’t hurt that the entire house suddenly smells like a bakery.  Hmmm, it’s the perfect way to start a Sunday…  I’m convinced of it.

This morning, my house smells like lemons… blueberries… brown sugar… and oatmeal.

These Lemon-Blueberry Oat muffins are full of flavor and the oatmeal makes them heartier than your typical blueberry muffin.  (They’re also a bit messier, because the oats like to fall off and sprinkle onto the floor. 😉  I definitely recommend eating these with a fork).  And even though I enjoyed mine for breakfast, I imagine that they’d be perfect for a snack or a brunch item too!

Do you have a special breakfast that you save for the weekends?

Lemon-Blueberry Oat Muffins

(As found on Taste of Home)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoon grated lemon peel
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries
  • TOPPING:
  • 1/2 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon butter, softened

Directions

  • In a large bowl, combine the first five ingredients. In another bowl, combine the egg, egg white, milk, butter, lemon peel and vanilla. Add to dry ingredients just until moistened. Fold in berries.
  • Coat muffin cups with cooking spray or use paper liners; fill two-thirds full. Combine topping ingredients; sprinkle over batter.
  • Bake at 400° for 20-22 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the muffin comes out clean. Cool 5 minutes before removing from pan to a wire rack to cool completely. Yield: 1 dozen.

Editor’s Note: If using frozen blueberries, use without thawing to avoid discoloring the batter.

Nutritional Analysis: One muffin equals 166 calories, 4 g fat (2 g saturated fat), 26 mg cholesterol, 158 mg sodium, 28 g carbohydrate, 2 g fiber, 4 g protein. Diabetic Exchanges: 1-1/2 starch, 1 fat.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sunday Fixin’s: Lemon-Blueberry Oat Muffins

  1. Muffins are wonderful! I really should make them more often because they’re so versatile…and cute…and delicious!

  2. These are muffins after my own heart. Oats and blueberries and lemon. Delicious. 😀

    One of my favorite weekend breakfast is french toast. Or pancakes with bananas and chocolate chips. OR, homemade bread smeared with almond butter and thick hunks of banana. I love that.

    Or, of course, muffins. 😀

  3. Mmm, my Sundays would be extra special with muffins like those to start me off. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your muffins up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/04/sweets-for-saturday-11.html

  4. Nan says:

    They are fantastic! This recipe is a keeper. Thank you!

  5. Nan says:

    BTW, we made them gluten free by substituting Bobs Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose baking flour and 3/4 t Xanthan gum.

Leave a Reply

