Too Busy for Exercise?

There is one theme to April 2011 and that is BUSY!  In fact, I spent some time organizing my calendar yesterday afternoon and then promptly ran upstairs to take a quick nap, exhausted from just looking at everything I have to do this month.  (Let me make it clear that I never take naps!!  In fact, my two fuzzy cats seemed a bit confused to see me in bed so early and apparently thought that I was playing hide and seek with them under the covers. Soon enough, they had burrowed their way under the comforter and started to play with my feet. I guess maybe this is why I don’t take naps often…).

Anyway…

The nap did wonders, as I had been really tired.  Note to self, I probably should actually sleep in a bit over the weekend.  (Oh, and if I ever do take a nap again, I probably should wear socks.  Cat attacks might be less ticklish then).   

One thing that looking over the calendar made me realize is that I won’t have a lot of time to work out over these next four weeks… So I need to make sure that I take advantage of the few free days I do have!  The nicer weather is supposedly on the way, but I at least have a gym membership so I can get a run in… rain or shine! 

And I pulled out my copy of Jillian Michael’s 30 day shred, as it looks like I’ll be doing cardio with Jillian  a few nights a week… At least I can squeeze in 20 minutes of that on the busier nights.

Question for you though… What does your workout routine look like when you’re crazy busy?

Oh, and happy Monday!  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Too Busy for Exercise?

  1. If there is one thing I always make time for it’s my workout. Running, cycling, or strength training provides a balance that I can not do without. On busy days, my workout consists of a very short run (and if time permits, a few weights). For me, running does wonders to make a busy day more bearable.

  2. When my dad first got really sick exercise became my last priority because I was SO busy driving back and forth to London to the hospital and taking care of things at his house. That was a bad idea. Exercise is my primary stress reliever so without it I was high strung and stressed. Relief started to come when I was able to incorporate even small amounts of exercise into my day.

  3. Happy Monday to you! I try to incorporate outside work into my daily exercise. My favorite, though, is walking with neighbors. Much more enjoyable with other people! 🙂

    And good for you for napping – sometimes it’s really just the thing we need, isn’t it? I rarely take them as well, but took one yesterday until the dogs began walking all over me. Of course, they leave husband alone.

  4. Such a balanced and healthy mindset. I agree, sometimes you just make do and you realize that quality matters more than quantity sometimes 🙂

  5. Sometimes I just have to make activities part of my daily routine, vs. actually *exercising.* Parking far. Running up and down the stairs a couple of times vs. walking up them once, spending 10 minutes before watching t.v. to lift some weights, getting up to walk around every hour. Little things add up, especially when life gets seriously busy.

  6. allieksmith says:

    Aw, busy times. Exercise is so important when you are stressed and busy so I always try to fit in SOME when I can 😉

  7. Aww, your kitties sound cute even if I’m sure it was annoying at the time, haha. Glad you got some rest in! And Jillian’s Shred is a great for when you’re short on time!

  8. Jeannine Como says:

    Hi, Nicole! When I know that I’m going to have a busy day, I get up earlier so that I can get in my hour of exercise.

  9. dianacheung says:

    i honestly make it a priority…at the expense of my relationship 😦 I go to work at 7 come home at 6:30 then work out from 7-8. It sucks

Leave a Reply

