Science, Dessert, and Mini Brain Explosions

At a family function over the weekend, I found myself sitting at a table with my parents, husband Nate, my brother Matthew, and Matthew’s girlfriend.  Now, only a very small handful of you have met my brother, so let me preface this by explaining that his knickname may as well be The Great Debater.  He loves to debate.  Loves to bring in obscure facts that you’ve never heard about and that you can’t argue against… because you have no idea if he’s right or not.  And he loves scientific stuff.  You know, the exact opposite of what I’m learning every time I open up my Martha Stewart magazine or my Confessions of a Shopoholic novel. 

So when he began to tell us of a new scientific experiment he had heard about, I tried not to laugh.  Because I think he was being very serious. I just wasn’t sure.  

In this experiment, scientists are strapping something to somewhere and measuring something going on in the brain.  Mini brain explosions caused by thought. Yeah, that’s what they were measuring.  And the end result, apparently, is their ability to know what you’re thinking… and what you’ll be thinking three minutes from now.  Now personally, I find this hard to believe.  I don’t even know what I’ll be thinking three minutes from now, and I don’t think that even a scientist knows my brain quite like I do.  (I totally want to spout off some joke about how attached me and my brain are but I’m resisting… kind of).  😉

So anyway, through the course of this discussion, most people at the table looked skeptical, and my brother appeared a tad bit frustrated that no one would even consider this a possibility.

So to show my support, I slapped Nate on the shoulder.

“Hey, what was that for?” Nate asked, looking confused.

“That’s for what you’ll be thinking in three minutes from now!” I told him matter-of-factly.

I’m not sure if my brother felt any better when his serious discussion took a turn towards comedy and everyone burst into laughter.  But I know that Nate and I were suddenly having a great time, rolling over in giggles.  Yeah, I never knew that science and inventions could be so fun!

(Oh, and apparently, Nate’s thoughts in the next three minutes would tempt him to go for another dessert…  So I slapped him in the knick of time).  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Science, Dessert, and Mini Brain Explosions

  1. That is so crazy. Although I can totally see how it’s possible to figure out what someone will be thinking based on their brain wave patterns. I mean, we know which parts of the brain are meant for different thoughts, so if a certain part of the brain begins to look active, we might know what it is thats “on the brain” so to speak.

    Kind of eerie, actually…haha.

  2. Joss says:

    a day without laughter just isn’t worth the time. thanks for the giggle.

  3. Tien says:

    Tee hee, you’re so cheeky Nicole! But that’s a good safe for your brother’s topic 🙂

Leave a Reply

