Ode to Spring

There was a fresh breeze blowing through the upstairs windows today, chasing away all the stuffiness and cabin fever left over from winter.  I paused a moment, taking a trip back in time to when my mom would take down all the curtains in my childhood home and then wash them as part of her spring cleaning rituals.  I always loved it when Mom did her spring cleaning.  The house smelt of lemons and everything shined. 

I haven’t bought curtains for the bedroom yet, so I don’t have anything to wash.  Still, that fresh, spring feeling was the same…  And I’m actually looking forward to polishing the windows and scrubbing the cupboards, although I’m a little over-whelmed as to where I should start. I imagine that tackling one room at a time is the best option.  🙂 

I came home from work tonight, a long to-do list running through my mind…  I ignored it.  Instead, Nate and I took a walk around town.  We paused at the swamp and watched some birds dart in and out of the thick brush.  Watched hyper dogs chase their tales.  Chatted about summer plans.  We smiled and waved at neighbors doing yardwork. 

One older gentleman came to chat, and we paused outside his house for 45 minutes, talking about his days in the army.  He’s moving soon, and I’ll be sad to see him go.  He’s a good neighbor.  I especially love his stories about his trips to the Middle East and his life in the military.  I told him that he should write a book. He told me that his son — a published author — had been planning to… before he died at the age of 37.  Childless, he and his wife are now going to travel the United States in their camper.  He told me that his son had done more in his young life than most people do in a life-time, and that he plans on living his retirement years to the fullest.  Yes, I’m sad to see him go.  But I wish him the best!

I know that the warmth of today was just a tease, as the next few days will be wet and rainy.  But it was a promise. Spring is coming…  And so is summer…. 

And I plan on enjoying every simple moment.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ode to Spring

  1. I loved this post. And you totally reminded me that my bedroom needs some major spring cleaning. 😉

  2. Joss says:

    What a lovely way to have spent your evening.

  3. dottylizzy says:

    Your old neighbour sounds like fun! I hope he and his wife have a fabulous time!! I hope I’m at least as adventurous when I get to that age! 😀

  4. I love this so much. So often I get caught up in all the to-dos that I forget to just stop and enjoy the simple moments. Thanks for the reminder, Nicole.

  5. jelillie says:

    Great post Nicole. I feel the summer coming! I started my brush burning yesterday 🙂

  6. allieksmith says:

    Sometimes it is so great to ignore that nagging to-do list 🙂

  7. Megan says:

    I so needed this reminder today Nicole! The to-do list can hold off a little… the chores will still be there! I’ll be trying to enjoy more simple moments. 🙂 Thanks again for the reminder girl!

  8. justmarriedgirl says:

    I love nights like this! Good for you for taking a break and getting outside to enjoy the great weather. Pretty soon, there’ll be plenty of it!

Leave a Reply

